Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

134 Results

49 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Monday, June 2, 201438DHoller (6)Andrea Carla Michaels
Friday, May 2, 201438D"Go, team, go!," e.g.Brendan Emmett Quigley
Tuesday, September 24, 201322DCheerleader's cheer (3)Kevin Christian
Tuesday, September 25, 201257DHoot and hollerIan Livengood
Saturday, March 3, 201248ATarzan trademarkByron Walden
Sunday, August 7, 201114D"2, 4, 6, 8 - Who do we appreciate?," e.g.Tony Orbach and Janie Smulyan
Thursday, June 2, 20114DScream and hollerBrendan Emmett Quigley
Monday, April 19, 201026AWhoop (3)Randy Sowell
Wednesday, October 7, 200919A"Gimme a C! ...," e.g. (2)Tim Wescott
Wednesday, March 11, 200911DHoller (6)Caleb Madison
Sunday, February 22, 2009120ALong-distance call?Barry C. Silk & Doug Peterson
Monday, October 6, 200866AHoller (6)Patrick Blindauer
Wednesday, November 14, 200738D"Gimme a C ...!," e.g. (2)Jim Page
Monday, March 13, 200666AShout (2)Bernice Gordon
Saturday, February 4, 200633DCry (2)Philip C. Ordway
Monday, June 7, 20043DShout (2)Lynn Lempel
Wednesday, January 7, 200444AWhoop (3)Mike Torch
Monday, August 25, 200364AHoller (6)Craig Kasper
Thursday, April 24, 200314AWhat fans may doPaula Gamache
Friday, February 28, 200345AWhoop (3)Manny Nosowsky
Sunday, February 2, 200338ATry to reach the hard-of-hearing?Mark Danna
Sunday, March 17, 200239DCheerleader's practice (2)David J. Kahn
Thursday, February 15, 200165ACheerleaders' practice (2)David Ainslie Macleod
Monday, December 4, 20007DCheerleader's bitEileen Lexau
Wednesday, November 22, 20007DCry out loud (2)Fred Piscop
Saturday, November 4, 200039ABarkRich Norris
Sunday, October 29, 2000109DGive a hootKaren Hodge
Wednesday, August 9, 200036DVociferateKelly Clark
Thursday, February 3, 200062DCheerleader's routine (2)Thomas W. Schier
Monday, January 3, 20007D"Gimme an A!...," e.g. (2)Hugh Davis
Friday, December 24, 199941ARaise the roofBrendan Emmett Quigley
Wednesday, January 20, 199933D"Gimme a C!" etc.Fred Piscop
Tuesday, September 1, 19988DCheerleader's cheer (3)Gene Newman
Monday, June 22, 199813DCry (2)Shannon Burns
Thursday, August 28, 199726DCry out loud (2)Shannon Burns
Sunday, March 23, 199755DProtest in no uncertain termsBryant White
Tuesday, February 18, 199755D"Gimme a C...!" is oneF. Piscop
Tuesday, November 12, 199642ASpeak to the hard-of-hearing?E. Lexau
Monday, October 16, 199563A"Gimme an A...", e.g. (2)Bernice Gordon
Monday, August 21, 199555DScream (2)Sidney L. Robbins
Friday, April 21, 199565AClamorRand H. Burns
Monday, March 27, 199560AScream (2)Gregory E. Paul
Wednesday, March 22, 199564AHoller (6)David J. Kahn
Wednesday, March 1, 199534DCheerleader's cheer (3)Lois Sidway
Wednesday, December 21, 199453DCheerleader's routine (2)Alfio Micci
Tuesday, November 15, 199419AHoller (6)Judith Perry
Sunday, July 31, 199429ARebel followerRichard Silvestri
Tuesday, July 5, 199439DMake oneself heard in the dinRaymond Hamel
Friday, March 18, 199426ACheerleaders' numberMark Diehl

85 results for YELL from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wednesday, August 4, 199321AHollerBonnie S. PrystowskyMaleska
Sunday, March 7, 1993140DHollerBetty JorgensenMaleska
Sunday, January 24, 199320AFootball cheerJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sunday, December 20, 199285AVociferateJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Wednesday, July 8, 199265ASquawkSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Sunday, September 1, 199199DHollerFrances HansenMaleska
Thursday, August 1, 199158DGeorgian's rebel ___Eli WesoffMaleska
Sunday, March 17, 199179DScreamCharles E. GerschMaleska
Friday, February 8, 19918DIsland off ScotlandBert H. KruseMaleska
Wednesday, December 5, 199039DCheerNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Friday, October 19, 199057DHollerJean M. HuntMaleska
Wednesday, July 18, 199056DShoutBetty HinmanMaleska
Sunday, July 15, 1990106AObey a cheerleaderWarren W. ReichMaleska
Monday, May 14, 199027DShoutAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Tuesday, April 17, 199045AScreamSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Thursday, November 23, 198911DShoutJoy L. WoukMaleska
Monday, November 20, 198944AScreamSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Tuesday, October 25, 198868ACheerleader's verseChristopher SherwoodMaleska
Tuesday, July 14, 198732DCheerJames E. Hinish, Jr.Maleska
Wednesday, December 31, 198662DShoutChristy RidleyMaleska
Thursday, January 2, 198644DShoutGayle DeanMaleska
Thursday, September 5, 198554DIsland off ScotlandEli WesoffMaleska
Tuesday, August 27, 19853DShoutChristy RidleyMaleska
Thursday, July 11, 198564ARebel ___James BarrickMaleska
Tuesday, August 7, 198458DItem for a cheerleaderNancy McCarthyMaleska
Saturday, December 17, 198351DBellowBrett A. BlaylockMaleska
Monday, December 12, 198365AShoutJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Monday, February 28, 198337DCryBolognese-LoMaleska
Tuesday, February 1, 198362D"Locomotive," for oneJudson G. TrentMaleska
Tuesday, August 10, 198238DShoutJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Tuesday, February 9, 198246DOutcryHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Wednesday, December 31, 19801DCollege cheerNancy McCarthyMaleska
Friday, June 13, 198044AShoutA. J. SantoraMaleska
Tuesday, July 31, 197962ARebel ___, in DixieI. Judah KoolykMaleska
Tuesday, January 31, 197863ACryEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Sunday, January 1, 1978143DHollerFrances HansenMaleska
Tuesday, October 18, 197750DHollerJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Saturday, June 4, 197770AOutcryWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Tuesday, April 19, 197753DScreamSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Thursday, December 2, 197636DRebels' noisePaul R. BarnesWeng
Friday, November 26, 19763DBe noisyStanley A. KurzbanWeng
Thursday, December 11, 197559DShoutA. J. SantoraWeng
Monday, September 22, 197522ASis-boom-bah, e.g.Jack L. SteinhardtWeng
Tuesday, July 22, 197571AJoin the cheerleaderJackie AidieurWeng
Thursday, December 5, 197432AShoutAlfio MicciWeng
Tuesday, June 18, 197449AScreechJack LuzzattoWeng
Monday, May 6, 197473AOutcryGeorge LaczkoWeng
Sunday, December 23, 197318DTiger, e.g.Anne FoxWeng
Tuesday, October 2, 197362DCheerUnknownWeng
Sunday, October 15, 197260DShoutDavid A. MurrayWeng
Thursday, April 15, 197145ACheerUnknownWeng
Sunday, August 30, 197035AShoutAnne FoxWeng
Friday, February 27, 197051DCheerUnknownWeng
Friday, February 20, 197063AWar whoopUnknownWeng
Tuesday, December 9, 196945ACheerleader's forte.UnknownWeng
Sunday, April 6, 196978DWhoopNancy SchusterWeng
Sunday, January 19, 196992AWhoopEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Sunday, July 28, 196873DCheerSidney LambertFarrar
Thursday, February 22, 196833DRhythmic cheer.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 12, 1967118DHoller.Frances HansenFarrar
Sunday, February 26, 196729ARebel's cry.Joseph LaFauciFarrar
Saturday, October 29, 196630DCollege cheer.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Wednesday, January 26, 196627AGive a cheer.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, January 11, 196635DRhythmic cheer.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, May 1, 19652DCollege cheer.UnknownFarrar
Friday, October 2, 196467ACheer.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, June 24, 196431DRhythmic cheer.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, October 10, 196324AWar whoop.William A. Lewis, Jr.Farrar
Wednesday, October 9, 196335DRebel ___.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Monday, September 16, 196364ARebel ___.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 1, 196349AShout.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 29, 19636ACheer.UnknownFarrar
Friday, May 17, 196326ARhythmic cheer.UnknownFarrar
Friday, May 25, 196261DCall out.Jean ReedFarrar
Monday, March 26, 196263AGive a cheer.Bernice GordonFarrar
Wednesday, February 7, 196251DLoud outcry.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Friday, December 29, 196167ACheer.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, November 15, 196165ACheer.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, August 16, 196153DCheer.UnknownFarrar
Friday, May 5, 196158DCheer.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, April 13, 196116DStadium sound.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, April 2, 196049DCheer.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, March 22, 196062ACry out.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 26, 195947DCollege cheer.Sam LakeFarrar
Friday, April 24, 195963ACry out.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar