Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

149 Results for WIN

53 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sunday, May 10, 201574AGood part of a recordJacob Stulberg
Wednesday, December 10, 20143DPrevail (2)Tom McCoy
Tuesday, November 25, 201461ATake the gold (3)Jeffrey Wechsler
Thursday, August 21, 201434D___ bigJules P. Markey
Monday, January 20, 201442DTake home the goldElizabeth C. Gorski
Wednesday, September 4, 201330DTake the prizeJoel Fagliano
Tuesday, August 14, 201241ACome out on top (2)Ian Livengood
Sunday, July 15, 201235DGain, as consentRandolph Ross
Sunday, July 31, 20111AWhen repeated, advantageous to both sidesPamela Klawitter
Monday, April 25, 201165DTriumph (2)Joon Pahk
Saturday, July 31, 201059DHave the best time, sayBarry C. Silk
Sunday, December 13, 200982ACarry the day (6)Mike Shenk
Sunday, October 11, 20096AWalk away withRandolph Ross
Monday, December 31, 200745ACarry the day (6)Lynn Lempel
Friday, November 2, 200733ABest peopleBarry C. Silk
Monday, August 27, 200732ATake home a trophySteven Ginzburg
Saturday, December 2, 20066DOne in column A?Bob Klahn
Tuesday, June 20, 200625AOne in the plus columnSteve Salmon
Wednesday, April 12, 200665DTake the gold (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, May 1, 200522AStat for a starterJoe DiPietro
Wednesday, January 12, 200536DSports datumAlan Arbesfeld
Monday, September 20, 200438DVictory (2)A. J. Santora
Friday, March 26, 200457ACome out on top (2)Nancy Kavanaugh
Saturday, October 25, 200358DSports page statisticRich Norris
Wednesday, September 24, 200319AGet the gold (2)Sheldon Benardo
Friday, May 23, 200361DSomething in the plus columnDave Tuller
Thursday, May 1, 200354DTake homeGilbert H. Ludwig
Monday, November 11, 200251DGet the blue ribbonGregory E. Paul
Tuesday, January 15, 200219DTake the cakeKelly Clark
Monday, October 22, 200143AGet a blue ribbonDenise Neuendorf
Sunday, August 27, 200044DSports statDana Motley
Thursday, June 29, 200034DCarry the day (6)Robert H. Wolfe
Tuesday, April 4, 200039APrevail (2)D. J. DeChristopher
Wednesday, March 3, 199921AVictory (2)Rich Norris
Wednesday, December 23, 199818DConvert, with "over"Christopher Hurt
Thursday, August 13, 199822AAcquire (2)A. J. Santora
Wednesday, December 17, 199764DCarry the day (6)Michael S. Maurer
Sunday, December 7, 199784DStandings statRandolph Ross
Friday, October 31, 199735DGame aimMatt Gaffney
Saturday, September 27, 199720AGet one's points across?Matt Gaffney
Thursday, May 15, 199734APitching creditMark Elliot Skolsky
Wednesday, March 19, 19977DTake the gold (3)Trip Payne
Thursday, February 13, 199758DCarry the day (6)F. Longo
Sunday, July 28, 1996106DSuccessN. S. Wizer
Sunday, March 17, 199631AMaiden's lackP. O'Gordon
Thursday, May 18, 199527ATriumph (2)Chuck Deodene
Thursday, March 2, 199520AGet the gold (2)Raymond Hamel
Sunday, November 6, 199458DCarry the day (6)A.J. Santora
Friday, October 28, 199438DCaptureBryant White
Tuesday, July 19, 199442AEnd up aheadChristopher Hurt
Tuesday, April 5, 199438AAcquire (2)Harvey Estes
Wednesday, March 30, 199456DBe lucky in the lotteryEileen Lexau
Saturday, February 5, 199431AOvercomeRand H. Burns

1 result for WIN from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
May 18, 2008diagramless30DTake goldJon Weems

95 results for WIN from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Friday, October 29, 199323AVictoryManny NosowskyTaub
Saturday, September 4, 19931DTake the goldEli WesoffMaleska
Wednesday, June 3, 199242AAchieveRonald C. HirschfeldMaleska
Saturday, April 11, 199262ATake the laurelsDorothy ElliottMaleska
Saturday, March 7, 199234APlace topperI. Judah KoolykMaleska
Friday, October 18, 199127AFinish firstVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Thursday, May 23, 19918DTake the crownJudith PerryMaleska
Sunday, January 21, 199036DAchieveRalph G. BeamanMaleska
Tuesday, October 3, 198963DConquerHarold B. CountsMaleska
Thursday, May 18, 198938DGerald Ford's buttonBetty JorgensenMaleska
Wednesday, June 8, 198822DTake all the marblesAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Thursday, April 21, 198842ACome out aheadRhonda KrausMaleska
Wednesday, June 10, 198738ACaptivateDorothy CannanMaleska
Wednesday, July 9, 198653AFinish firstWhittenMaleska
Wednesday, December 4, 198527DBe the victorCharlotte ShoreMaleska
Thursday, May 9, 198516AWord on a tote boardHarold B. CountsMaleska
Thursday, February 28, 198540APrevailChristy RidleyMaleska
Sunday, September 2, 198432DMutuel-window signWarren W. ReichMaleska
Wednesday, January 18, 198465D___ out (prevail)John GreenmanMaleska
Sunday, December 25, 198345DPrevailAnne FoxMaleska
Saturday, May 14, 198325AGainVaughn KeithMaleska
Sunday, June 20, 1982106DBe A-1 at the Big ATap OsbornMaleska
Friday, April 2, 198253ATrack ticketTap OsbornMaleska
Sunday, September 21, 19808DBeat the gameLouis BaronMaleska
Sunday, November 12, 197830DRace-track signFrances HansenMaleska
Thursday, May 25, 197853ACounter at Churchill DownsHallie & Gerald ParsonsMaleska
Sunday, April 24, 197787DGet a victoryA. J. SantoraMaleska
Sunday, December 26, 197629DConquerFrances HansenWeng
Sunday, April 18, 197644AMutuel-window signHume R. CraftWeng
Sunday, January 25, 1976123ATriumphVirginia SchneiderWeng
Wednesday, January 21, 197623ATake the blue ribbonStanley A. KurzbanWeng
Sunday, April 7, 197454DCome out on topDorothea ShippWeng
Monday, January 7, 197444APick up the marblesLacksWeng
Sunday, October 7, 197339AConquerFrances HansenWeng
Saturday, September 22, 197320DTriumphUnknownWeng
Saturday, July 14, 19735DPrevailUnknownWeng
Wednesday, June 14, 197252AAttainUnknownWeng
Sunday, July 25, 1971111AGainMary Ann CodeWeng
Wednesday, May 19, 197136ATote-board wordUnknownWeng
Tuesday, January 5, 197131AVictoryUnknownWeng
Wednesday, December 31, 196933DGet.UnknownWeng
Sunday, September 28, 196960APrevailEdward J. O'BrienWeng
Sunday, September 22, 1968118DOptimist's mottoWilliam A. Lewis Jr.Farrar
Saturday, August 3, 196838AVital convention word.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 28, 1968118DBeat the odds.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Saturday, October 22, 196643APrevail.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Thursday, August 11, 196631ACome in first.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, April 28, 196641DRace track sign.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 17, 196639APrevail.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Monday, December 20, 196560DTriumph.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, January 27, 196523APrevail.UnknownFarrar
Monday, August 31, 196432ATake the prize.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 11, 196455AVictory: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, October 17, 196319DSucceed.Helen FasuloFarrar
Friday, August 30, 196354DRelative of place or show.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, July 11, 19639DSucceed.UnknownFarrar
Monday, June 10, 19636DAcquire.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 1, 196321ATriumph.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Saturday, December 8, 196259DObtain.UnknownFarrar
Friday, August 24, 196259DTake the prize.UnknownFarrar
Monday, April 9, 196236AVictory: Colloq.James E. Hinish, Jr.Farrar
Friday, January 26, 196231DAcquire.Jay SheldonFarrar
Sunday, November 26, 1961148DTriumph.Stephanie CaruanaFarrar
Friday, March 31, 19618DAcquire.UnknownFarrar
Friday, May 27, 19607DPrevail.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, December 19, 195944AAttain.UnknownFarrar
Monday, November 9, 195929DTriumph.UnknownFarrar
Friday, June 26, 195960DYankees' goal.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, March 12, 19599DAchieve.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Friday, November 7, 195819DAchieve.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Monday, August 4, 195849ABe the victor.Harold T. BersFarrar
Thursday, October 10, 195752AAttain.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, February 3, 195792ABoxer's victory.H. C. CraftFarrar
Tuesday, November 20, 19561AFinish first.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, September 13, 19567DPrevail.Edward EarlyFarrar
Friday, January 27, 195644ATriumph.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Tuesday, September 6, 195563AAttain.John M. Holmes, Jr.Farrar
Friday, July 8, 195566DCome out ahead.Isaac KertFarrar
Saturday, July 2, 19558DScore the most runs.Mel TaubFarrar
Monday, April 11, 195535ASucceed.Jessie M. SnowFarrar
Thursday, February 3, 195519DGet elected.Fletcher CoatesFarrar
Tuesday, June 1, 195459DTake the cake.Roberta MorseFarrar
Sunday, February 21, 195431APrevail.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Tuesday, September 8, 195335APrevail.Joseph LaFauciFarrar
Friday, December 12, 195231DOutclass.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, July 10, 195238AGain the favor of.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, June 24, 195223AThe Yankees often do.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, December 2, 1951101DTriumph.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, August 15, 1948114DInfluence.P. J. LamannaFarrar
Sunday, June 27, 1948130APersuade.P. J. LamannaFarrar
Sunday, March 2, 194718DTriumph.Willard N. JordanFarrar
Sunday, October 13, 194669ASecure.Louis BaronFarrar
Sunday, June 3, 194518DBeat.Willard N. JordanFarrar
Sunday, September 12, 194313DConquer.Alexis P. BoodbergFarrar
Sunday, August 2, 194229AGain.Charles ErlenkotterFarrar