Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

69 Results for VERNE

24 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

Tuesday, July 28, 201531AJules who wrote "Around the World in 80 Days"Caleb Emmons
Sunday, May 24, 2015141DSee 1-DownKevin G. Der
Thursday, January 22, 201521D"Voyages Extraordinaires" writerTimothy Polin
Thursday, January 30, 201454AAuthor of the quote "I am not what you call a civilized man!"Dan Schoenholz
Saturday, December 8, 201230ASeminal name in science fictionBarry C. Silk
Monday, July 23, 201222AJules who wrote "Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea"Lynn Lempel
Monday, February 21, 201151DJules who pioneered in science fictionEd Sessa
Saturday, August 21, 201027A"Five Weeks in a Balloon" authorBarry C. Silk
Sunday, November 15, 200913D"Les Voyages Extraordinaires" writerElizabeth C. Gorski
Thursday, October 11, 200750D"From the Earth to the Moon" authorE. J. Platt
Tuesday, August 31, 200416ACaptain Nemo's creator (3)Nancy Kavanaugh
Friday, December 19, 200325D"The Mysterious Island" authorElizabeth C. Gorski
Monday, May 26, 20037DCaptain Nemo's creator (3)Lynn Lempel
Sunday, February 9, 200398DPhileas Fogg’s creator (2)David J. Kahn
Tuesday, April 23, 200215ACaptain Nemo's creator (3)Bob Peoples and Nancy Salomon
Monday, November 26, 200118D"From the Earth to the Moon" writer (2)Bette Sue Cohen
Sunday, July 29, 200138AThe Father of Science FictionMichael Ashley
Wednesday, July 25, 200153DPhileas Fogg's creator (2)Richard Hughes
Wednesday, July 4, 200166A"From the Earth to the Moon" writer (2)John Beck
Tuesday, November 9, 199938A"A Journey to the Center of the Earth" writerElizabeth C. Gorski
Friday, November 7, 199747A"Michel Strogoff" authorBrendan Emmett Quigley
Monday, June 24, 199615AJules___M. Schneider
Tuesday, October 31, 199516A54 Down's creatorRich Norris
Sunday, October 2, 199463DProphetic writerFrances Hansen

1 result for VERNE from Variety puzzles.

May 24, 2009acrosticJAuthor of "From the Earth to the Moon"Emily Cox and Henry Rathvon

44 results for VERNE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

Tuesday, June 29, 199327DFather of sci-fiMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Monday, December 14, 199248DAuthor of "The Mysterious Island"Jeff HerringtonMaleska
Friday, November 6, 199228DNemo's creatorManny NosowskyMaleska
Wednesday, May 20, 199219AFogg's creatorLois SidwayMaleska
Saturday, February 1, 199246DHe wrote "Michel Strogoff"Ernie FurtadoMaleska
Friday, September 29, 198927DEarly sci-fi writerBetty JorgensenMaleska
Thursday, January 21, 198816ANemo's creatorEli WesoffMaleska
Wednesday, September 10, 198624A"Michel Strogoff" authorPeter SwiftMaleska
Friday, June 29, 198433AHe wrote "The Mysterious Island"Daniel GirardiMaleska
Sunday, December 18, 198329DEarly sci-fi authorMartha J. De WittMaleska
Wednesday, July 14, 198260AEarly sci-fi authorJeanne WilsonMaleska
Sunday, March 30, 198084DSci-fi pioneerAlfio MicciMaleska
Sunday, November 26, 197877ASci-fi guyEmanuel BergMaleska
Wednesday, January 12, 197735AScience-fiction pioneerEli WesoffWeng
Sunday, October 10, 197616DNemo's creatorWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Monday, March 15, 197654DPioneer sci-fi writerNorma HitchWeng
Tuesday, April 29, 197557AFamous JulesHarriet Gilson RosenbergWeng
Sunday, February 9, 197580AFrench writerWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Thursday, January 2, 197553DNemo's creatorBert BeamanWeng
Friday, September 6, 197440AFogg's creatorAnthony B. CanningWeng
Saturday, December 18, 19713DNemo's creatorUnknownWeng
Wednesday, January 20, 197161APhileas Fogg's creatorUnknownWeng
Tuesday, November 5, 196829DAuthor of "A Trip to the Moon," 1865.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 27, 196864AScience-fiction author.UnknownFarrar
Monday, October 23, 196751AFamous French writer.Thomas W. SchierFarrar
Monday, February 11, 196318AScience fiction pioneer.Leonard SussmanFarrar
Friday, December 8, 196112DFather of science fiction.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 3, 196034DFather of science fiction.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, November 10, 195949AFather of modern science fiction.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 12, 195919AFogg's creator.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Sunday, April 7, 195792ACreator of Passepartout.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Thursday, February 14, 195733ACreator of Phileas Fogg.Joseph LaFauciFarrar
Thursday, February 16, 195640DCreator of Captain Nemo.Thomas J. VarnerFarrar
Wednesday, February 8, 195625AFather of science fiction.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Tuesday, May 3, 195552DFrench writer.James R. OverholtFarrar
Sunday, April 24, 195554DCreator of Michael Strogoff.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Wednesday, February 23, 195533ACreator of Captain Nemo.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Friday, August 6, 195431DPioneer of science fiction.Alice CookFarrar
Friday, February 16, 195139DScientifiction Jules.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Tuesday, January 9, 195151AProphetic French writer of science fiction.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sunday, November 30, 194773DProphetic French writer (1828–1905).Harold T. BersFarrar
Sunday, December 8, 1946115AAuthor of Michael Strogoff.Katherine McKennaFarrar
Sunday, September 10, 194467DProphetic French author (1828–1905).Archie S. KreilingFarrar
Sunday, September 20, 19422DFrench writer of scientific romances.Louis ShieldsFarrar