Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

54 Results

29 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).

DateGridClueAuthor
Wednesday, March 18, 20158AThe Trojans of the Pac-12Timothy Polin
Sunday, September 14, 201479ATrojan's home, for shortTony Orbach and Patrick Blindauer
Wednesday, July 30, 20144DSch. with a noted marching bandJean O'Conor
Sunday, February 24, 2013114DN.C.A.A.'s GamecocksJoe DiPietro
Tuesday, October 23, 20125DPac-12 school, for shortJules P. Markey
Tuesday, November 22, 201156ATrojan's sch. (3)Victor Fleming
Monday, October 19, 200951AL.A. campus (3)Lynn Lempel
Saturday, March 14, 200919AJohn Wayne's L.A. alma mater (2)Barry C. Silk
Sunday, March 23, 200872AThe Gamecocks of the Southeastern Conf.Robert W. Harris
Sunday, February 17, 200878AAlma mater for Neil Armstrong and Pat Nixon: Abbr.Henry Hook
Monday, May 15, 200654AThe Trojans of the N.C.A.A. (2)John R. Conrad
Sunday, January 8, 200636ACrosstown rival of the BruinsMichael Ashley
Friday, July 23, 200420AWestern N.C.A.A. powerhouseDavid Levinson Wilk
Saturday, January 24, 200446D20-time Rose Bowl winner: Abbr.Mark Diehl
Sunday, August 31, 2003105DO.J.'s teamFred Piscop
Thursday, March 14, 20027DTrojan initialsAlan Arbesfeld
Saturday, September 8, 200135DJohn Wayne's L.A. alma mater (2)Jim Page
Tuesday, October 10, 200057AThe TrojansFrances Hansen
Saturday, July 22, 200031DL.A. Sports Arena teamJoan Williamson
Wednesday, May 19, 199923DThe Trojans of the N.C.A.A. (2)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Thursday, April 30, 199824ATrojans' sch. (3)Kelly Clark
Saturday, May 18, 199657DL.A. campus (3)M. Nosowsky
Wednesday, January 31, 199621AL.A. campus (3)M. Gaffney
Sunday, October 29, 199535DWestern coll.Maura B. Jacobson
Saturday, September 30, 199531DPac 10 teamBryant White
Wednesday, December 28, 199453ATrojans' sch. (3)Gerald R. Ferguson
Saturday, December 17, 199445DO.J.'S alma materChuck Deodene
Saturday, December 10, 199458DTrojans' homeBryant White
Thursday, April 21, 199458DHome of the TrojansTimothy S. Lewis

1 result for USC from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
February 20, 2011diagramless68DTrojan's domain: Abbr.Paula Gamache

24 results for USC from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Friday, October 15, 199361DU.C.L.A. rivalDorothy ElliottTaub
Saturday, July 24, 199342DL.A. campusHarrisMaleska
Saturday, August 18, 199029DU.C.L.A. rivalKevin BoyleMaleska
Thursday, November 3, 198822DL.A. campusJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Thursday, August 18, 198819AL.A. campusJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Tuesday, March 8, 198860DU.C.L.A. rivalChristopher PageMaleska
Sunday, March 6, 198880DL.A. campusMaura B. JacobsonMaleska
Monday, July 2, 198426DWest Coast inst.Irene SmullyanMaleska
Wednesday, October 5, 19778AThe Trojans of Calif.Jim PageMaleska
Tuesday, September 20, 19778DTrojans' inst.Henry HookMaleska
Saturday, April 23, 197739DU.C.L.A.'s rivalWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Wednesday, March 23, 197723DTrojans' inst.A. J. SantoraMaleska
Saturday, January 29, 197757DWest Coast campusBetty DuffyWeng
Saturday, March 22, 197520DO. J. Simpson's univ.PageWeng
Sunday, July 21, 197411AWestern campusBarbara GillisWeng
Sunday, July 8, 197351AL. A. campusThomas SheehanWeng
Thursday, June 29, 197245DThe TrojansUnknownWeng
Tuesday, December 15, 197022DLos Angeles campusUnknownWeng
Sunday, November 8, 197051DCalif. campusEdward J. O'BrienWeng
Saturday, April 26, 196961DAlma mater of O. J. Simpson.UnknownWeng
Thursday, July 9, 196449ASouth American country: Abbr.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 31, 196426DColumbia: Abbr.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Saturday, November 30, 196343ACampus of the Trojans: Abbr.Samuel K. FliegnerFarrar
Sunday, September 2, 196291DCalifornia campus.Arthur SchulmanFarrar