Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

18 Results for SUMTER

5 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sunday, April 26, 200990DHistoric South Carolina fortTrip Payne
Saturday, January 10, 20099DEarly South Carolina senator ThomasBob Klahn
Sunday, December 1, 200299DFort in 1861 newsDavid J. Kahn
Sunday, November 19, 20005DSouth Carolina county or its seatCathy Millhauser
Sunday, February 13, 200098DHistoric Fort ___Bill Zais

13 results for SUMTER from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, December 28, 198647DFort in the news in 1861Virginia P. AbelsonMaleska
Tuesday, October 22, 198531AFort of fameFinnMaleska
Saturday, June 12, 197643ASee 32 DownHallie & Gerald ParsonsWeng
Monday, July 5, 196534AFort in Charleston harbor.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, October 15, 196345AFort of Civil War fame.William LutwiniakFarrar
Sunday, August 19, 196243AHistoric fort.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sunday, November 27, 196012DHistoric fort.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Saturday, January 2, 196026AFort ___.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 8, 195687DCivil War fort.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Thursday, August 7, 195237DWhere the Civil War started, April 12, 1861.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, July 10, 194994DFort where Civil War startedCharles CrossFarrar
Sunday, December 30, 194529AOpening battle of Civil War.Harriot CookeFarrar
Sunday, December 20, 194250DSite of first shot of Civil War.Mrs. Hedley V. CookeFarrar