Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

182 Results

86 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Monday, November 17, 20141DJames Bond, for one (2)Tom McCoy
Monday, October 20, 201460D007, for one (4)Patrick Blindauer
Thursday, August 21, 201432DPlant, maybe (2)Jules P. Markey
Monday, July 14, 201446AJames Bond, for one (2)MaryEllen Uthlaut
Sunday, July 13, 2014130AAustin Powers, e.g. (2)Tom McCoy
Thursday, June 19, 201429DWhat was Caleb in the Bible?Timothy Polin
Sunday, June 1, 201472DSecret collectorTom McCoy
Sunday, May 18, 201430DOne who bugs people?Joe DiPietro
Thursday, May 8, 201461AStratego piece with a monocleMatthew Lees
Sunday, March 9, 201451APeepBrendan Emmett Quigley
Monday, December 9, 201355AJason Bourne, for oneNina Rulon-Miller
Monday, October 14, 201331D007, for one (4)Zhouqin Burnikel and D. Scott Nichols
Thursday, June 6, 201331DPlant, maybe (2)James Tuttle
Sunday, March 3, 201314DBond, for one (3)Samuel A. Donaldson
Sunday, July 22, 2012126DDangerous job (2)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Friday, May 18, 201211AMany a buggerAllan E. Parrish
Wednesday, September 14, 201171AFoe of 1-Across in Mad magazine (2)Jeff Chen
Wednesday, September 14, 20111AFoe of 71-Across in Mad magazine (2)Jeff Chen
Thursday, September 8, 201138DWriter in cipher, maybeMatt Ginsberg and Pete Muller
Friday, December 24, 201010D19-Down employeeJay Kaskel and Daniel Kantor
Monday, July 12, 201049DPasser of secret documentsFreddie Cheng
Thursday, April 15, 201030A"Mission: Impossible" figureBrendan Emmett Quigley & Joon Pahk
Monday, March 1, 201066DWord repeated in Mad magazine's "___ vs. ___"Brendan Emmett Quigley
Monday, February 22, 201041D007, for one (4)Steve Dobis
Friday, January 8, 201059DInvisible ink userPatrick Berry
Tuesday, November 10, 200962ABug planterAlan Arbesfeld
Monday, September 28, 200913DNathan Hale, notablyLynn Lempel
Sunday, September 6, 200915D"Alias" typeRobert H. Wolfe
Friday, July 24, 200927AWith 5-Down, snooping aidPatrick Berry
Sunday, April 19, 200910AStratego piece (2)Will Nediger
Friday, February 27, 200936ACover girl, e.g.?Joe DiPietro
Sunday, April 20, 2008119ASneak a peekJohn Farmer
Monday, February 4, 200843DAustin Powers, e.g. (2)Dave and Tracy Mackey
Monday, December 10, 200763DMata Hari, for oneLynn Lempel
Monday, October 8, 200752DU-2 pilot, e.g.Steve Kahn
Sunday, July 22, 200713DMole, e.g.David Levinson Wilk
Wednesday, May 23, 200739APerson with a code name, maybeBruce Venzke and Stella Daily
Wednesday, January 31, 200756AOne who may bug youBrendan Emmett Quigley
Saturday, January 27, 200734ANoticeKaren M. Tracey
Sunday, January 21, 200782AInfiltratorPatrick Berry
Tuesday, October 31, 200637D007, for one (4)Patrick Blindauer
Monday, July 10, 200672AHush-hush jobRandall J. Hartman
Sunday, June 18, 2006111DPerson with intelligenceBen and Mark Tausig
Wednesday, January 12, 200534DWire wearerAlan Arbesfeld
Friday, September 24, 200424ATail, maybePatrick Berry
Sunday, September 12, 200433DMole (2)Patrick Berry
Sunday, June 6, 200433DSneakPatrick Merrell
Sunday, November 16, 200397ASeek intelligenceCathy Millhauser
Thursday, August 14, 200337DBug someone, e.g. (2)Greg Staples
Sunday, April 20, 200392AShadow, maybeBill Zais
Saturday, February 8, 200357DOne with a coverPatrick Berry
Friday, January 31, 200333DOne may bug youBrendan Emmett Quigley
Thursday, January 23, 200350ASpotterCathy Millhauser
Sunday, January 12, 200352ATelephoto lens user, maybePatrick Berry
Wednesday, September 4, 200211DOperative (2)Eric Berlin
Thursday, November 29, 200141AMicrofilmer, maybePatrick Merrell
Monday, November 12, 20019DSnoop (2)Janice M. Putney
Monday, October 29, 200164DSnoop (on) (2)Richard Hughes
Saturday, June 2, 200123ABug someone, e.g. (2)Jim Page
Thursday, February 15, 200159DGood looker?David Ainslie Macleod
Monday, January 15, 200129AFinder of secretsJanet R. Bender
Wednesday, November 29, 200061DBond, for one (3)Peter Gordon
Tuesday, August 1, 20004DLe Carré characterRandall J. Hartman
Sunday, May 21, 200032ADangerous job (2)Matt Gaffney
Wednesday, March 15, 200062DPlant, perhapsJim Page
Sunday, January 23, 200094AStratego piece (2)Joe DiPietro
Wednesday, November 10, 199944DLe Carré stapleJoan Yanofsky
Sunday, October 17, 1999161DMole (2)Bob and Sharon Klahn
Tuesday, October 5, 199945ALook in (on)Stephanie Spadaccini
Wednesday, August 19, 199822APeek in (on)Alfio Micci
Sunday, January 18, 199882DOperative (2)Ed Early and Bob Klahn
Saturday, November 8, 199741AKind of catcherJim Page
Sunday, January 19, 199738DScoutB. Klahn
Monday, October 21, 199658DSnoop (on) (2)J. Bender
Monday, July 22, 199644AMata Hari, e.g. (3)S. L. Robbins
Wednesday, June 19, 199626DLe Carre figureF. Piscop
Friday, May 31, 199644AShadow, with "on"J. S. Marrone
Thursday, May 30, 199657DPeeperN. S. Wizer
Sunday, January 7, 199695DKind of satelliteEric Albert
Monday, November 13, 199523ASnoop (2)Norma Steinberg
Monday, April 24, 199523AMata Hari, e.g. (3)Sidney L. Robbins
Monday, August 22, 199464DMata Hari, e.g. (3)Sidney L. Robbins
Sunday, August 14, 199420DBond, for one (3)Deborah Kathryn Trombley
Wednesday, March 2, 199433DNathan Hale, e.g.Jonathan Schmatzbach
Sunday, January 30, 1994121DRudolf Abel, e.g.Alex K. Justin
Saturday, November 27, 199322ACooper novel, with "The"Manny Nosowsky

2 results for SPY from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
January 5, 2014diagramless38AUse a nanny cam, e.g.Fred Piscop
February 24, 2008diagramless59ADangerous jobPatrick Blindauer

94 results for SPY from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wednesday, February 17, 199323AHale or 007Harold B. CountsMaleska
Tuesday, February 9, 199340DEmulate HariAlfio MicciMaleska
Friday, August 14, 199242ANapoleon Solo, for oneWilliam CanineMaleska
Wednesday, April 1, 199267ACaleb, e.g.Lawrence M. RheingoldMaleska
Sunday, February 23, 199215AHari or HaleJoy L. WoukMaleska
Thursday, February 6, 199253ACasanova was oneLois SidwayMaleska
Saturday, December 7, 199125DSmiley was oneRosalind PavaneMaleska
Sunday, March 24, 199157DLe Carré characterJudith PerryMaleska
Sunday, August 26, 199043AEspionage agentNorma SteinbergMaleska
Saturday, December 23, 198928DWhat's a Mata?S. E. WilkinsonMaleska
Tuesday, October 27, 198720AAgentLouis SabinMaleska
Monday, December 15, 198666AMata Hari, e.g.Sidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Tuesday, August 12, 19861ADouble agentAlfio MicciMaleska
Friday, July 11, 198667AAgentLawrence M. RheingoldMaleska
Friday, September 14, 198423DK.G.B. manD. JonesMaleska
Sunday, June 24, 198466ADouble agentAlfio MicciMaleska
Sunday, October 30, 198374ADeighton's Needle, e.g.Barry L. CohenMaleska
Friday, April 8, 198346DPeeperPeter SwiftMaleska
Tuesday, March 1, 198367AKind of ring or glassPageMaleska
Tuesday, November 30, 198249ANorthern ___ (apple)Margaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Wednesday, March 24, 19825AKeep watch secretlyJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sunday, March 7, 1982118DHale or HariMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Sunday, October 4, 19815ADouble agentJoy L. WoukMaleska
Tuesday, September 1, 198120AUnderground workerAlbert L. MisenkoMaleska
Sunday, August 16, 198118DHale or HariA. J. SantoraMaleska
Thursday, July 9, 198149AHe came in from the coldRobert KatzMaleska
Sunday, February 8, 1981112DUndercover agentSandra GastMaleska
Thursday, January 29, 198150DOne who "came in from the cold"Edward MarcheseMaleska
Monday, December 8, 198063ACooper's "The ___"Herb L. RisteenMaleska
Monday, June 30, 198055ASnoopLouis SabinMaleska
Saturday, June 14, 19801DTriple agentJean J. DavisonMaleska
Sunday, June 1, 198071DSnoopThreba JohnsonMaleska
Thursday, September 13, 197941DNorthern ___ (apple variety)C. J. AngioMaleska
Thursday, November 9, 197860DHe "came in from the cold"Mrs. John FabbroniMaleska
Sunday, May 28, 197832ADouble agentHenry HookMaleska
Sunday, September 25, 197732AInfiltratorWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Tuesday, September 20, 197744DAgent provocateurHenry HookMaleska
Wednesday, August 3, 197760DHari, for oneAlfio MicciMaleska
Wednesday, June 22, 197755ADouble agentWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sunday, April 24, 197744DDouble agentA. J. SantoraMaleska
Sunday, March 13, 197729ANoticeLouis C. Mandes Jr.Maleska
Wednesday, March 24, 197630DKind of glassVirginia ButlerWeng
Friday, February 20, 197650AWatch stealthilyAlice H. KaufmanWeng
Sunday, February 15, 197689DKind of glassElaine D. SchorrWeng
Saturday, November 29, 197534AJames Bond, e.g.Jordan S. LasherWeng
Sunday, August 24, 197513DJ. F. Cooper characterJim PageWeng
Friday, July 11, 197513DMail-drop userJack L. SteinhardtWeng
Tuesday, May 13, 197567ALe Carre characterJay SpryWeng
Saturday, August 31, 197413DCooper characterRonald C. HirschfeldWeng
Saturday, March 23, 197426AAgentSara V. TuckermanWeng
Sunday, February 10, 1974105ASnoopJean J. DavisonWeng
Saturday, December 15, 19738AMata HariUnknownWeng
Thursday, November 15, 197337AKind of glassUnknownWeng
Sunday, April 15, 197328DNorthern, for oneHerb RisteenWeng
Wednesday, January 24, 197362AAgentUnknownWeng
Wednesday, January 17, 197330ACertain data-gathererUnknownWeng
Tuesday, May 30, 197238DBond, e.g.UnknownWeng
Thursday, May 18, 197210AUse a periscopeMerl ReagleWeng
Monday, January 31, 197223ANorthern ___UnknownWeng
Saturday, February 6, 19714DCooper characterUnknownWeng
Friday, September 26, 196954DAndré.UnknownWeng
Saturday, June 28, 196926ADouble agent.UnknownWeng
Monday, April 14, 196938AAgent.UnknownWeng
Saturday, January 25, 196947AHero of many a movie.UnknownWeng
Thursday, January 2, 196926DAgent.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, August 18, 196850ADouble agentA. J. SantoraFarrar
Thursday, May 30, 196852A007, for one.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, March 12, 196727DHero of many a tale.William A. Lewis Jr.Farrar
Sunday, January 22, 196761AJohn André.Barbara GolubFarrar
Thursday, October 20, 196669APerennial TV hero.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, February 22, 19665DPopular figure in fiction.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, December 18, 196520ACurrent-type hero.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, November 13, 196549DPerennial TV hero.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 19, 196561D007, for one.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Friday, August 20, 19659AKind of glass.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, March 4, 196536AHero of certain adventure tales.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, August 30, 196455DNorthern ___.Anne FoxFarrar
Thursday, July 30, 196412DSecret agent.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, March 25, 196465AUndercover man.UnknownFarrar
Monday, April 22, 196364DCaleb's role.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, January 26, 196345AUnderground worker.Jan and Mike DubinFarrar
Friday, November 16, 196250ASecret watcher.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 25, 196196ASecret agent.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Tuesday, July 5, 196014DNorthern ___, kind of apple.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 26, 196073DEmissary.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Tuesday, June 21, 196064DMember of G-2.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 12, 196016DWatcher.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Monday, May 30, 196057DNorthern ___, winter apple.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, December 20, 195936APerceive.John F. ByrneFarrar
Friday, December 11, 195958DPerceive.UnknownFarrar
Monday, August 17, 195945ASecret agent.Mary S. ManningFarrar
Wednesday, April 8, 195920AScrutinize.Helen SmathersFarrar
Monday, April 6, 19595DSecret agent.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, January 25, 1959105DNorthern ___, winter apple.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar