Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

134 Results for PROS

40 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).

Thursday, June 19, 201416AWizardsTimothy Polin
Sunday, December 26, 201085AAdvantages (3)Darin McDaniel
Monday, November 23, 200956DMavens (5)Ben Pall
Sunday, February 15, 200940AMavens (5)Jim Leeds
Wednesday, February 4, 200956DOld hands (2)Paula Gamache
Wednesday, October 15, 200820AWhizzes (4)Kevin G. Der
Monday, August 25, 200834DExpertsAndrea Carla Michaels and Michael Blake
Sunday, December 30, 200788AAdvantages (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Saturday, October 13, 200711AAll in favor (2)Barry C. Silk
Friday, May 4, 200710DSome argumentsManny Nosowsky
Thursday, January 25, 20075AAll in favor (2)Manny Nosowsky
Sunday, August 7, 200576AMavens (5)Lee Glickstein and Nancy Salomon
Saturday, July 17, 200443AThey're all for itRich Norris
Thursday, May 20, 200467AWhizzes (4)Greg Staples
Thursday, April 8, 200427DOld hands (2)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, March 14, 2004132DSpecialists (2)Craig Kasper
Friday, December 26, 200316DDebate listRobert H. Wolfe
Sunday, June 8, 200344AAdvantages (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Wednesday, February 13, 20027DSome Olympians, nowadays (2)Steven Picus
Sunday, October 21, 20015DMastersRobert H. Wolfe
Monday, July 9, 200128DMajor-leaguersGregory E. Paul
Wednesday, May 30, 200145DN.F.L., e.g., with "the" (2)Joe DiPietro
Thursday, March 8, 20019ASome Olympians, nowadays (2)Peter Gordon
Sunday, December 26, 19991AWhizzes (4)Greg Staples
Wednesday, June 9, 199923DMavens (5)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Saturday, February 7, 199848AWhizzes (4)Frank Longo
Wednesday, February 5, 199739ACrackerjacksJ. Schmalzbach
Monday, August 26, 199656DPartner of consG. E. Paul
Thursday, April 25, 199664AN.F.L., e.g., with "the" (2)W. Canine
Sunday, January 21, 199680DCons' consR. Wolfe
Thursday, December 21, 199523DCons' counterpartRich Norris
Friday, September 15, 199545ASome debating pointsMatt Gaffney
Monday, July 31, 199519DU.S. Open players, usuallyElizabeth Gorski
Sunday, April 23, 1995122ADebate argumentsRandolph Ross
Sunday, April 9, 1995114DSpecialists (2)Cathy Millhauser
Thursday, February 2, 199561ACowboys and Indians, e.g.Bob and Sharon Klahn
Saturday, November 5, 199443DThey get paidManny Nosowsky
Thursday, July 21, 199462AArguments forBetty Jorgensen
Saturday, February 19, 199410DFavorable factorsCharles E. Gersch
Friday, February 11, 199462AMavens (5)Harvey Estes

1 result for PROS from Variety puzzles.

April 15, 2012diagramless26AThey play for payPaula Gamache

93 results for PROS from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

Saturday, May 29, 19936APaid playersAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Monday, January 27, 199230ASeattle Seahawks. e.g.Evelyn BenshoofMaleska
Friday, November 3, 198922DFloyd and NormanJune A. BoggsMaleska
Wednesday, March 22, 198918APaid athletesBetty JorgensenMaleska
Sunday, March 19, 1989110DNoah and NavratilovaCaroline G. FitzgeraldMaleska
Thursday, October 27, 198850DN.F.L. playersReginald L. JohnsonMaleska
Sunday, August 28, 1988137AAffirmativesMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Sunday, October 11, 198738APartners of many consAlan ArbesfeldMaleska
Wednesday, July 8, 198766ACaddie-shack bossesBetty JorgensenMaleska
Wednesday, February 4, 198736DLakers or LionsTom W. UnderhillMaleska
Thursday, January 29, 19871ATrevino, Watson et al.Eli WesoffMaleska
Thursday, October 16, 19864DP.G.A. membersEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Monday, July 28, 198667AP.G.A. membersKenneth WitteMaleska
Friday, June 13, 198623AP.G.A. membersGloria EvansMaleska
Sunday, October 27, 198590ABig leaguersWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sunday, March 24, 198543DNol-___ (drop a suit)Robert H. WolfeMaleska
Tuesday, January 8, 198525DPaid athletesWhittenMaleska
Saturday, November 3, 198434AYeas, in a wayS. E. WilkinsonMaleska
Tuesday, July 24, 198465AWatson and TrevinoJohnsonMaleska
Tuesday, July 17, 198430DVirtuosiJohn GreenmanMaleska
Sunday, June 17, 198425AExpertsCharles M. DeberMaleska
Wednesday, February 29, 198421DBarber, Miller et al.Eugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Monday, February 20, 198434DThose in favorEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Monday, December 5, 198349APaid playersShirley SolowayMaleska
Wednesday, March 23, 19839AYeasayersI. Judah KoolykMaleska
Monday, March 21, 198354ACons' inverseJohn R. ProsserMaleska
Sunday, January 9, 198332DWatson, Holmes et al.Louis BaronMaleska
Thursday, September 9, 198233DCompanions of consNorman S. WizerMaleska
Monday, May 3, 198212DExpertsTeresa ForestallMaleska
Monday, December 7, 198131DNicklaus, Watson et al.Gerald BrooksMaleska
Monday, March 10, 198049DGolf instructorsMrs. John FabbroniMaleska
Wednesday, November 7, 197929DN.F.L. menJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Thursday, August 16, 197910ANicklaus and Palmer, e.g.Jean J. DavisonMaleska
Sunday, July 29, 1979102AP.G.A. membersReginald L. JohnsonMaleska
Saturday, April 14, 197932DExpertsA. J. SantoraMaleska
Monday, March 5, 197946DThey play for moneyJohn FinchMaleska
Sunday, December 3, 197879DThose in favorAlfio MicciMaleska
Monday, July 31, 197819DBears and LionsHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Monday, June 6, 197730DP.G.A. membersDorothy CannanMaleska
Monday, November 15, 197649AExpertsMargaret LeggettWeng
Monday, September 13, 197653DCertain athletesHerb L. RisteenWeng
Thursday, July 22, 197640DSome starsFrancis HuetherWeng
Friday, January 9, 19761AGolf-tour playersBrian G. TylerWeng
Saturday, November 22, 19751DCertain athletesAllan BlackmanWeng
Thursday, July 17, 197563AExpertsGeorge RaventosWeng
Friday, December 20, 197423AGame instructorsMaura B. JacobsonWeng
Sunday, September 29, 197432AGolf-tour peopleElaine D. SchorrWeng
Thursday, December 6, 19738DGolf V.I.P.'sUnknownWeng
Friday, October 5, 19731DExpertsUnknownWeng
Tuesday, June 12, 19731DSam and J. C. SneadUnknownWeng
Sunday, April 15, 197325ATour playersHerb RisteenWeng
Sunday, May 7, 1972127DArnie and SamFrances HansenWeng
Saturday, January 29, 197258APlay-for-pay menUnknownWeng
Sunday, December 6, 197045APalmer and othersChristine ValenceWeng
Tuesday, July 21, 197054DLaver and RosewallUnknownWeng
Wednesday, May 6, 197067AExpertsUnknownWeng
Sunday, June 1, 196961APeople forJack LuzzattoWeng
Friday, October 4, 196834ACertain votes.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, January 20, 19685ACertain athletes, for short.UnknownFarrar
Friday, August 4, 196750DNot tyros.Ronald C. HirschfeldFarrar
Sunday, April 30, 1967108DOld stagers.Arnold MossFarrar
Wednesday, November 9, 196640DOld hands.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, April 12, 196627AMajor leaguers.UnknownFarrar
Monday, February 28, 196631ASee 5 Across.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, February 9, 196650DSome athletes.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, December 2, 196553DSome athletes.UnknownFarrar
Monday, November 8, 19651AMoney players.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, September 22, 196567ASome athletes.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, August 26, 19651DExperts.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 6, 1964121DCons' partner.Will WengFarrar
Sunday, January 26, 196444ACertain players.W. E. JonesFarrar
Wednesday, April 10, 196313DOld hands.UnknownFarrar
Friday, October 26, 196246ACertain golfers.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, August 15, 196246ACertain athletes.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, February 28, 196234AOld hands.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 16, 196170ACertain athletes.Aida CromwellFarrar
Tuesday, May 24, 196044AAffirmative arguments.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, September 3, 195840DCertain athletes.Helen FasuloFarrar
Sunday, May 12, 1957129ALinks teachers.Marion MoeserFarrar
Tuesday, May 1, 19561ACertain sportsmen.S. A. KayFarrar
Saturday, March 10, 195647DCertain golfers.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, March 15, 195569ACertain sportsmen.Morton BraunFarrar
Thursday, November 18, 195422ACertain athletes.Sidney LambertFarrar
Wednesday, June 30, 19549DArguments for.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Wednesday, May 12, 195443ATheir play is their business.M. S. ManningFarrar
Tuesday, March 3, 195310DBen Hogan, Sam Snead, et al.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, May 4, 1952108DCertain golfers.Willard N. JordanFarrar
Sunday, January 20, 1952109AGolf instructors.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Saturday, November 24, 195152ANot amateurs.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 24, 19499DAffirmative voters.Hilda E. AllenFarrar
Sunday, October 3, 194846AGolf experts.Henry A. WolfeFarrar
Sunday, June 4, 1944120A___ and cons.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sunday, January 17, 194388AArguments in favor.Amy L. GlazierFarrar