Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

15 Results for MISNOMER

3 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. See the dictionary definition.

Sunday, November 9, 201440D"Koala bear," e.g.Tom McCoy
Sunday, April 11, 200486DWhat something shouldn't be calledPatrick Merrell
Sunday, December 19, 199319D"Prairie dog," for exampleJohn M. Samson

12 results for MISNOMER from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

Tuesday, November 10, 198740DWrong-name errorArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Wednesday, September 14, 19839DErroneous epithetDorothy SmitonickMaleska
Wednesday, April 15, 198127AIncorrect titleEli WesoffMaleska
Sunday, December 16, 197914DUse of a wrong nameMichael PriestleyMaleska
Wednesday, November 29, 197255AUse of a wrong termUnknownWeng
Saturday, March 11, 197210DError in designationUnknownWeng
Thursday, June 6, 196329AWrong name.UnknownFarrar
Monday, September 10, 195654ADemocrat Party or Publican Party.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 25, 19547DThe term "comics," for instance.Israel GitterFarrar
Sunday, December 23, 19516DWrong name.Willard JordanFarrar
Saturday, January 20, 195118ADeceptive title.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sunday, July 20, 1947103AWrong name.Thomas MeekinFarrar