Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

49 Results for MAX

21 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Monday, March 23, 201531DHighest amount, informallyMichael Dewey
Monday, September 22, 201413DReach the limit, with "out"Ian Livengood
Friday, October 25, 201342ASetting of 10, maybeMartin Ashwood-Smith
Wednesday, August 22, 201211DPeak, slangilyPeter A. Collins
Wednesday, June 1, 201125DTop (out)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Monday, October 18, 201023ATo the ___ (fully)Lynn Lempel
Thursday, November 13, 200850A10 on a 10-point scale, e.g.Allan E. Parrish
Wednesday, December 12, 200734DMel Gibson's "mad" roleDaniel Kantor
Friday, November 9, 200720APeakHenry Hook
Sunday, February 11, 200769DUpper figureMark Feldman
Wednesday, August 16, 200610APeak, brieflyKevan Choset
Wednesday, July 30, 200357AAt most, informallyAlan J. Weiss
Thursday, November 28, 20028DCredit card concernPatrick Merrell
Sunday, November 3, 2002105DUpper limit, informallyPatrick Berry
Wednesday, January 5, 200035ANth degree (3)D. J. DeChristopher
Tuesday, August 10, 199920DNth degree (3)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sunday, November 1, 199876AFullest, slangilyRobert Malinow
Thursday, March 19, 199816AAbbr. on highway overpassesManny Nosowsky
Sunday, April 6, 1997104AReach capacity, slangily, with "out"Rich Norris
Saturday, August 26, 199526D1979 Mel Gibson roleJoe DiPietro
Tuesday, December 20, 199467DNth degree (3)Robert R. Zimmerman

2 results for MAX from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
January 18, 2015diagramless72ATop end, informallyFred Piscop
September 29, 2002diagramless46DLimit, slangilyFrank Longo

26 results for MAX from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, April 22, 199085ATV's HeadroomMaura B. JacobsonMaleska
Wednesday, August 30, 198968ASociologist WeberDorothy DavisMaleska
Monday, October 10, 198830DBaer or BeerbohmChristopher SherwoodMaleska
Friday, February 5, 198820ABaer or HeadroomDorothea E. ShippMaleska
Monday, May 4, 198759DBoxer BaerWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Wednesday, July 14, 198234APainter ErnstJeanne WilsonMaleska
Sunday, June 29, 198014DFirst name of 76 AcrossAnne FoxMaleska
Sunday, March 2, 198021APainter ErnstMaura B. JacobsonMaleska
Friday, August 19, 197728ASatirist BeerbohmVirginia ButlerMaleska
Sunday, March 28, 1976112DBeerbohmRuth N. SchultzWeng
Thursday, August 17, 197263A"Blue ___"UnknownWeng
Sunday, August 1, 197166DEastmanMary M. MurdochWeng
Monday, August 19, 196833AHighest point: Abbr.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, July 29, 196742APhysicist Born.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Friday, February 24, 196710DBeerbohm.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, August 8, 196525DHunter in Weber opera.W. E. JonesFarrar
Tuesday, October 3, 196118ASatirist Beerbohm.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 8, 196130AHero of "Der Freischütz."UnknownFarrar
Friday, June 5, 195937ANovelist Wylie.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Thursday, December 26, 195760DHighest amount: Abbr.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, September 8, 195560DHighest degree: Abbr.W. E. JonesFarrar
Thursday, October 28, 19546DAuthor Beerbohm.Roberta MorseFarrar
Wednesday, July 23, 19529DMan's name.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, July 18, 195162DMr. Beerbohm.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, July 9, 195055AFamous German illustrator (1840–1915).Alice H. CookFarrar
Sunday, April 18, 194818DWhat Gorki’s friends called him.Louis BaronFarrar