Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

58 Results for LAMENT

16 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sunday, June 1, 201449DBemoan (4)Tom McCoy
Monday, October 11, 20102DBemoan (4)Robert Fisher
Tuesday, May 6, 200824D"Alas, poor Yorick!," e.g.Gary J. Whitehead
Monday, October 8, 200722ABemoan (4)Steve Kahn
Thursday, June 7, 200755D"Ah, for the good old days," e.g.Nancy Salomon
Friday, April 6, 200717AReally regretWill Nediger
Sunday, December 31, 200665DElegyElizabeth C. Gorski
Wednesday, May 10, 200655A"Guys and Dolls" song "Adelaide's ___"Kevan Choset
Friday, May 4, 200120ARegretElizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, January 9, 200030AWeep forCharles M. Deber
Friday, September 17, 199926D"Woe is me" soliloquyPatrick D. Berry
Saturday, July 24, 199925DThrenodyRich Norris
Saturday, February 6, 199910DSing the bluesBob Klahn and Martin Ashwood-Smith
Friday, July 31, 199829AKeenJohn Wolting
Tuesday, November 5, 199654DBemoan (4)Jeremiah Farrell
Saturday, November 4, 199544AJeremiadFrank A. Longo

1 result for LAMENT from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
August 15, 2010acrosticDSad last song on the "Evita" soundtrackEmily Cox and Henry Rathvon

41 results for LAMENT from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, June 4, 198974DPlaintJohn GreenmanMaleska
Monday, November 28, 198821AWailAsnasMaleska
Wednesday, August 8, 198418DJeremiadEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Sunday, February 26, 1984105DThrenodyPeter SwiftMaleska
Friday, January 27, 198447ASing the bluesMartha J. DeWittMaleska
Sunday, May 2, 1982102AJeremiadWilliam H. FordMaleska
Sunday, November 15, 1981122DWailNancy W. AtkinsonMaleska
Sunday, July 5, 198157ADeploreJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Sunday, February 1, 198195DMonody or threnodyVincent L. OsborneMaleska
Thursday, May 31, 197956AThrenodyJohn R. ProsserMaleska
Wednesday, December 6, 197848ABemoanJean J. DavisonMaleska
Friday, February 18, 197759ADeploreH. Hastings ReddallWeng
Friday, November 1, 197446ADeploreBert BeamanWeng
Tuesday, December 12, 197245AElegyUnknownWeng
Saturday, June 19, 197147DDeploreUnknownWeng
Sunday, March 14, 197126DComplaintArnold MossWeng
Tuesday, May 6, 19694DElegy.UnknownWeng
Tuesday, December 24, 196849DDeplore.UnknownFarrar
Monday, November 4, 196855AThrenody.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, September 17, 196621DDeplore.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 11, 196610DSigh for.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 17, 19661DMournful ballad.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, March 10, 196544DJeremiad.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, December 3, 196439DDeplore strongly.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, July 30, 196433AThrenody.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, March 15, 196457DThrenody.Ruth W. SmithFarrar
Sunday, August 25, 1963112DThrenody.Stephanie CaruanaFarrar
Wednesday, April 24, 196348AThrenody.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 14, 196250AMourn.Anna McDannellFarrar
Saturday, December 10, 196028ABewail.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, October 3, 195928DSorrow over.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, January 17, 195922AWeep.UnknownFarrar
Friday, February 21, 195854ABemoan.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Sunday, May 5, 195772ARegret deeply.Sidney LambertFarrar
Wednesday, May 25, 19558DRegret deeply.Mel TaubFarrar
Thursday, November 18, 195414AExpression of sorrow.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sunday, June 6, 195494DDeplore.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, June 8, 195255ASad song.Harold T. BersFarrar
Tuesday, January 8, 195248DOne of Jeremiah's discourses.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, November 6, 195147AElegy.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, December 14, 19508DExpress sorrow.Elizabeth PattersonFarrar