Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

282 Results for ISM

106 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Monday, June 1, 201558ASuffix with British and BushDavid Woolf
Wednesday, May 13, 20155ASchool of thought (5)Jeffrey Wechsler
Sunday, December 21, 2014108ABelieve it!Joel Fagliano
Wednesday, December 17, 201440AEnding for a 10-DownStu Ockman
Wednesday, November 26, 20141DSuffix with sex (2)Michael S. Maurer
Sunday, November 23, 201413DDoctrine (15)Patrick Berry
Sunday, July 13, 201446DMovementTom McCoy
Sunday, June 22, 201444DSystem of beliefs (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, April 6, 201431ASuffix with socialPatrick Berry
Sunday, February 16, 20148DSuffix with ageYaakov Bendavid
Tuesday, November 12, 201320ASuffix with Tao or MaoMike Doran
Thursday, October 24, 201340AIt might come after sexPeter A. Collins
Monday, September 23, 201311DSuffix with capital or MarxSusan Gelfand
Sunday, June 2, 201350AYou can believe it (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Wednesday, January 9, 201324ASuffix with MarxDavid Ben-Merre
Sunday, December 9, 201249ASuffix with fatalPatrick Berry
Thursday, May 3, 201225ADoctrine (15)Neville Fogarty
Sunday, March 25, 201234AEnding with sex or symbolPatrick Berry
Tuesday, February 28, 201252ASurreal ending? (3)Randall J. Hartman
Tuesday, October 25, 201121DSuffix in poli sciC. W. Stewart
Thursday, June 30, 201129DDoctrine (15)David Poole
Sunday, June 19, 2011113DPhilosophy suffixPatrick Berry
Thursday, April 14, 20111DCreedPete Muller
Wednesday, February 2, 201136DSuffix with magnetPeter A. Collins
Tuesday, December 21, 201019ABelief suffix (2)Alan Arbesfeld
Monday, November 29, 201048DDoctrine (15)Elizabeth A. Long
Sunday, October 31, 201074ASystem of beliefs (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, October 24, 201067DSchool: SuffixBrendan Emmett Quigley
Sunday, June 13, 201049DBelief: Suffix (2)Francis Heaney
Wednesday, June 9, 201030DDoctrine (15)Gary Whitehead
Tuesday, March 9, 201037ABelief system (3)Jeffrey Wechsler
Sunday, November 22, 2009125AConclusion for many believers?Patrick Merrell
Saturday, August 22, 200956ACreed componentKaren M. Tracey
Saturday, June 20, 200930ASuffix with 49-AcrossBrad Wilber
Friday, March 20, 200925ASurreal ending? (3)David Levinson Wilk
Sunday, January 18, 200990DBelief (10)Randolph Ross
Tuesday, December 30, 200847ASchool of thought (5)Doug Peterson
Sunday, December 7, 2008110DDoctrine (15)Jim Page
Saturday, December 6, 200857DSurreal ending? (3)Ashish Vengsarkar & Narayan Venkatasubramanyan
Thursday, December 4, 200843AIntellectual conclusion?Barry C. Silk
Sunday, November 2, 200881ASystem of beliefs (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Thursday, July 3, 200822DTour's end?Keith Talon
Monday, April 28, 200839ASuffix with human or organGary Disch
Sunday, July 15, 200715ADoctrine (15)Patrick Berry
Sunday, April 22, 200713DBelief (10)Victor Fleming
Sunday, April 15, 200769DBelief (10)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Wednesday, April 4, 200710DPhilosophyBette Sue Cohen
Friday, February 10, 20067DFollower or Lenin or StalinHarvey Estes
Wednesday, December 7, 200527ABelief system (3)Manny Nosowsky
Sunday, March 13, 200528ASuffix with idealPatrick Merrell
Tuesday, December 7, 200457DDoctrine (15)David Diefendorf
Wednesday, November 24, 200461DAn end to sex? (3)Adam Cohen
Friday, September 3, 200437DSomething to believe in (4)Edgar R. Fontaine
Sunday, May 11, 200381ASchool of thought (5)Patrick Berry
Sunday, May 4, 200397ASomething to believe in (4)Tyler Hinman
Sunday, March 23, 200377DDoctrine (15)Con Pederson
Thursday, February 27, 200341DPhilosopher's studyElizabeth C. Gorski
Friday, February 21, 200345ATheory (2)Patrick Berry
Sunday, February 16, 200387ABelief (10)Charles M. Deber
Thursday, November 14, 200210AFanatic finish?Paula Gamache
Tuesday, July 2, 20021DDoctrine (15)John R. Conrad
Thursday, March 14, 200218DAn end to sex? (3)Alan Arbesfeld
Monday, February 25, 200229DSuffix with organ or patriotChristina Houlihan
Sunday, June 24, 200112DReal endingRandolph Ross
Sunday, May 13, 200114DSuffix with DarwinNancy Nicholson Joline
Friday, April 27, 20017DBelief (10)Mark Diehl
Tuesday, April 3, 200140AYou can believe it (3)Nancy Salomon and Sherry O. Blackard
Friday, February 23, 200157DFollower of Lenin or StalinJoe DiPietro
Wednesday, January 10, 200165DDoctrine (15)Richard Silvestri
Friday, April 14, 200046ADogmatic conclusion?Martin Ashwood-Smith
Tuesday, February 8, 200041ASuffix with heroFred Piscop
Wednesday, December 29, 199957DCause: SuffixRobert O. Dillman
Saturday, December 18, 199922DEnding of beliefsNancy Joline
Wednesday, December 1, 199919DSchool of thought (5)Bill Zais and Nancy Salomon
Thursday, October 7, 199949ADoctrine (15)Kelly Clark
Monday, September 13, 199913DTheory suffixFran and Lou Sabin
Wednesday, August 4, 199949ASchool of thought (5)Richard Silvestri
Sunday, April 18, 199962ABelief (10)Frank Longo
Monday, April 12, 199932DDoctrine (15)Diane C. Baldwin
Tuesday, October 13, 19985DCredoNancy Salomon
Monday, August 24, 19987DAny doctrine (2)Alan Jay Weiss
Tuesday, August 4, 199861DPolitical subjectJanet R. Bender
Sunday, July 12, 199856APolitical practice, perhapsHenry Hook
Wednesday, April 29, 199818DSuffix with sex (2)Gayle Dean
Tuesday, April 21, 199826AAny doctrine (2)Fred Piscop
Wednesday, January 21, 199824ADoctrine (15)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Saturday, December 6, 199740ASuffix in political studiesDavid J. Kahn
Tuesday, October 7, 199739DBelief (10)Richard Hughes
Monday, July 7, 19971DDoctrine: Suffix (3)Gregory E. Paul
Saturday, June 14, 199720DPagan follower?A. J. Santora
Thursday, March 27, 199739ASubject of academic studyAlex Vaughn
Monday, March 24, 199730ADoctrine: Suffix (3)Thomas W. Schier
Thursday, August 24, 199558DBelief (10)Matt Gaffney
Tuesday, June 20, 199548ABelief (10)Jon Delfin
Saturday, June 3, 199519AAn end to sex? (3)Bob Klahn
Tuesday, April 18, 199518ADoctrine: Suffix (3)Christopher Page
Friday, March 24, 19951DYou can believe it (3)Christopher Hurt
Sunday, November 27, 199466ASomething to believe in (4)Jacques Liwer
Sunday, July 31, 19944AEnding for mom or dadaRichard Silvestri
Sunday, June 26, 199441AHero followerNancy Nicholson Joline
Tuesday, April 26, 199463ABelief (10)David Ellis Dickerson
Saturday, April 23, 199458ASomething to believe in (4)Manny Nosowsky
Sunday, March 13, 199484APatriot's endNancy Nicholson Joline
Sunday, March 6, 199469ADoctrine (15)Frances Hansen
Thursday, January 27, 19948DTheory (2)Betty Jorgensen
Thursday, January 13, 199433ABelief system (3)Harvey Estes

4 results for ISM from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
July 12, 2009diagramless63DDoctrineJim Hyres
February 18, 2001diagramless59DDoctrineFred Piscop
January 7, 2001diagramless63DBeliefPeter Gordon
June 11, 2000diagramless43AIdeal ending?Frank Longo

172 results for ISM from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Tuesday, July 6, 199359DBeliefRobert HerrigMaleska
Wednesday, October 14, 199246ATenetDon GroatMaleska
Sunday, August 9, 199272ADoctrineS. E. BookerMaleska
Tuesday, July 7, 199222DDoctrineAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Friday, June 5, 199220ADoxyBetty JorgensenMaleska
Sunday, April 19, 1992117DDoctrineNancy Nicholson JolineMaleska
Thursday, January 16, 19926DDoctrineC. McInerneyMaleska
Saturday, January 4, 199245ADoctrineLois SidwayMaleska
Sunday, December 29, 199136DDistinctive doctrinePeter GordonMaleska
Sunday, July 28, 19919DDoctrineRichard SilvestriMaleska
Wednesday, November 14, 199051ASchool of thoughtJoy L. WoukMaleska
Wednesday, June 6, 199013DTenetBetty JorgensenMaleska
Saturday, January 6, 199054ADoctrinePatterson PeppleMaleska
Monday, October 9, 198939ADoctrineWilson McBeathMaleska
Thursday, March 16, 19898DTenetBetty JorgensenMaleska
Saturday, February 25, 198920ASocial followerNancy JolineMaleska
Saturday, January 14, 198938DDoctrineBert RosenfieldMaleska
Wednesday, August 31, 198824ASet of doctrinesLois SidwayMaleska
Tuesday, July 12, 198858DDistinctive doctrineRobert O. DillmanMaleska
Monday, May 30, 198861DDoctrineAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sunday, February 21, 198850ADoctrineFrances HansenMaleska
Saturday, January 9, 198825DDoctrineMcDowellMaleska
Wednesday, December 23, 198727DDoctrinal suffixChristopher PageMaleska
Wednesday, May 13, 19874DDoctrineBette Sue CohenMaleska
Wednesday, February 11, 198721DDoctrineWhittenMaleska
Sunday, January 25, 1987103ASystemJames and Phyllis BarrickMaleska
Monday, December 22, 198626AIdeologyBurnsMaleska
Sunday, March 23, 198664AEnding for Arian or GnosticMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Monday, March 10, 19869DDogmaShirley SolowayMaleska
Tuesday, February 11, 198665DIdeologyChristy RidleyMaleska
Tuesday, February 4, 198656DDoctrineJudith PerryMaleska
Monday, November 18, 198521DDoctrineFrank GearyMaleska
Sunday, October 27, 198576ABeliefWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Friday, June 21, 19855AIdeologyRobert KatzMaleska
Tuesday, April 30, 198545DDoctrineBurnsMaleska
Tuesday, March 5, 19857DDoctrineWhittenMaleska
Tuesday, December 18, 198424ASystemLouis SabinMaleska
Sunday, November 11, 198477DDoctrineMark DiehlMaleska
Sunday, May 20, 198472ATheoryJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Friday, January 20, 19842DDistinctive doctrineJoe ClonickMaleska
Friday, January 13, 198450ADistinctive theoryJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Wednesday, November 23, 198322ADoctrineWhittenMaleska
Sunday, September 25, 1983107DDoctrineA. J. SantoraMaleska
Friday, July 8, 19836DDoctrineMaurice J. TeitelbaumMaleska
Wednesday, May 18, 198319ADoxyEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Tuesday, January 18, 198355DDoctrineAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sunday, September 12, 1982101DDoctrineBarbara Lunder GillisMaleska
Sunday, September 5, 198254AEnding for patriot or idealLouise EarnestMaleska
Sunday, May 23, 198226DCredoMaura B. JacobsonMaleska
Thursday, February 19, 198128AIdeologyRobert KatzMaleska
Saturday, January 31, 198139ABeliefWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Thursday, January 29, 198140ADistinctive theoryEdward MarcheseMaleska
Thursday, December 25, 198042ADoxyC. J. AngioMaleska
Tuesday, November 25, 19805ADoctrineI. Judah KoolykMaleska
Monday, November 24, 198054ATenetCarol DuttingMaleska
Sunday, October 26, 198043ADoxyElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Tuesday, July 1, 198030ADoctrineHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Wednesday, May 16, 197922ADoctrineHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Sunday, March 4, 19798DDoctrineMaura B. JacobsonMaleska
Friday, June 23, 19788DSchool of thoughtHallie & Gerald ParsonsMaleska
Sunday, February 12, 1978106DDoctrineJordan S. LasherMaleska
Sunday, January 8, 1978108DDoctrineTap OsbornMaleska
Thursday, November 24, 197740ABeliefTap OsbornMaleska
Tuesday, September 20, 197722ASuffix with hero and voodooHenry HookMaleska
Monday, August 8, 197728ADoctrineBernsteinMaleska
Friday, March 11, 197748ADoctrineSophie FiermanMaleska
Wednesday, February 23, 197757DDoctrineTerry HealyWeng
Tuesday, January 25, 197735DBeliefNorton RhoadesWeng
Sunday, November 21, 197649DIdeologyBert KruseWeng
Thursday, July 22, 19768DIdeologyFrancis HuetherWeng
Friday, June 25, 197648DDoctrineJordan S. LasherWeng
Sunday, December 21, 197587ACultAnne FoxWeng
Friday, November 28, 19754DDoctrineTap OsbornWeng
Saturday, October 11, 197525ACreedMaura B. JacobsonWeng
Wednesday, May 14, 197523APhilosophyJean J. DavisonWeng
Wednesday, December 18, 19747DDoctrineWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Thursday, December 5, 197444DDoctrineAlfio MicciWeng
Sunday, October 20, 1974102ADoctrineBert RosenfieldWeng
Thursday, June 20, 197439DTheoryVirginia ButlerWeng
Thursday, May 16, 197460DDoctrineWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Sunday, March 3, 197454ADoctrineJim PageWeng
Sunday, January 20, 197462ATheoryAdelyn LewisWeng
Monday, October 29, 197337ADoctrineUnknownWeng
Friday, July 13, 197357DDoctrineUnknownWeng
Wednesday, April 11, 197333APracticeUnknownWeng
Saturday, January 13, 197325DDoctrineUnknownWeng
Friday, January 12, 197319ADoctrineUnknownWeng
Sunday, September 17, 197247DDoctrineThreba JohnsonWeng
Sunday, August 27, 197210DDoctrineAlfio MicciWeng
Sunday, June 11, 197241ADoctrineAlexander BlackWeng
Sunday, March 19, 19723DDoctrineHerb RisteenWeng
Tuesday, October 12, 197141ASystemUnknownWeng
Saturday, June 19, 197110DTheoryUnknownWeng
Thursday, January 7, 197144ASystemUnknownWeng
Wednesday, October 21, 197062DDoctrineUnknownWeng
Friday, July 24, 197035DDoctrineUnknownWeng
Sunday, July 5, 1970113DTheoryNancy SchusterWeng
Monday, June 8, 197013DSchool of thoughtUnknownWeng
Monday, June 1, 197048DTheoryUnknownWeng
Sunday, May 24, 1970107DDoctrineThreba JohnsonWeng
Tuesday, May 12, 197030ADoctrineUnknownWeng
Sunday, April 19, 197029AIdeologyJack LuzzattoWeng
Sunday, March 8, 197057ADoctrineEva Pollack TaubWeng
Wednesday, February 11, 197054ADoctrineArthur SchulmanWeng
Sunday, January 11, 197028DDoctrineJoseph LaFauciWeng
Monday, September 15, 19692DBelief.UnknownWeng
Tuesday, July 1, 196948DTheory.UnknownWeng
Sunday, February 16, 196927DTheoryHume R. CraftWeng
Sunday, January 5, 196953ADoctrineFrances HansenFarrar
Monday, July 8, 196852DDoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Monday, March 11, 196824DIdeology.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, February 4, 196867DSuffix with real or social.Anne FoxFarrar
Saturday, November 25, 196752ADoctrine or cult.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 27, 196634ABelief.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Monday, November 14, 196638DDoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, November 17, 196533ADoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, June 2, 196560DDoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Monday, February 15, 196539DTheory.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, September 29, 196436ASystem of belief.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, July 1, 19645AA system.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 17, 196315DTheory.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Saturday, July 6, 196344ASystem.UnknownFarrar
Friday, October 5, 196221ADoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 13, 196280DDoctrine.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Thursday, May 3, 196232ADoctrine.Joseph CrowellFarrar
Monday, April 16, 19626DCult.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Thursday, February 1, 196213DDoctrine.S. A. KayFarrar
Saturday, June 3, 196121DBelief.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, February 7, 196151DIdeology.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, October 12, 19609DTheory.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 2, 196049ADoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, June 23, 195923ATheory.Louise RabbFarrar
Monday, May 11, 195963DCult.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Monday, April 6, 195948ACult.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Friday, October 17, 195821DDoctrine.J. F. KellyFarrar
Saturday, August 30, 195859DDoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 25, 195811DSystem.Hume R. CraftFarrar
Saturday, February 1, 195811DDoctrine.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Monday, December 9, 195727ADoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 22, 195760ATheory.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Wednesday, April 24, 195759DDoctrine.Herbert LyleFarrar
Saturday, April 20, 195757DCult.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Tuesday, April 16, 195736DSchool of thought.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Friday, May 11, 195610DTheory.J. F. KellyFarrar
Tuesday, May 8, 195624ADoctrine.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Thursday, November 24, 19551ATheory.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, November 17, 19557ADoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, September 21, 195529ADoctrine.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Tuesday, September 6, 195510DDoctrine.John M. Holmes, Jr.Farrar
Friday, August 12, 19558DTheory.Mel TaubFarrar
Tuesday, March 29, 195520ADoctrine.Martha BrownleeFarrar
Sunday, July 4, 19544DTheory.Harold T. BersFarrar
Saturday, March 27, 19545ADistinctive doctrine.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, October 28, 195338ADoctrine.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Friday, August 14, 195333ADoctrine.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Saturday, May 2, 195358DDoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, April 9, 19534DIdeology.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Saturday, November 8, 195255DDoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 11, 1952125DDoctine.Hilda E. AllenFarrar
Friday, August 31, 195123ADoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, August 1, 195148ADoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, July 15, 195129DDoctrine.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Tuesday, May 8, 195154DDoctrine.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, February 18, 195199AIdeology.Louis BaronFarrar
Sunday, October 1, 1950120ATheory.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sunday, December 26, 1948125AA doctrine.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, January 26, 194746APolitical credo.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sunday, September 22, 194634ADoctrine.Waldo RansonFarrar
Sunday, November 5, 1944133ADoctrine.Elizabeth PattersonFarrar
Sunday, December 6, 194265ADoctrine.F. C. JaschobFarrar
Sunday, September 6, 194294ACreed.J. L. WordsworthFarrar
Sunday, May 24, 194296DDoctrine.Charles CrossFarrar