Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

12 Results

7 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Friday, June 28, 201342DEmission of ripening fruitIan Livengood and Brad Wilber
Friday, November 12, 201044AFruit-ripening gasBarry C. Silk
Sunday, October 3, 201051DAnesthetic gas (2)Daniel A. Finan
Wednesday, September 11, 200267AAnesthetic gas (2)A. J. Santora
Friday, August 24, 200148DFlammable gasManny Nosowsky
Sunday, March 11, 200123AGas used as an anestheticElizabeth C. Gorski
Friday, January 12, 200122DC2H4Mark Diehl

5 results for ETHENE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, August 16, 198785AProduct resulting from cracking petroleumJoy L. WoukMaleska
Wednesday, June 8, 19834DHydrocarbon found in coal gasReinMaleska
Sunday, October 4, 198186ACoal-gas ingredientJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sunday, September 16, 197396AColorless gasNancy S. RossWeng
Sunday, July 18, 196592AGaseous fuel: Var.A. J. SantoraFarrar