Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

38 Results

17 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).

DateGridClueAuthor
Thursday, December 11, 201436AHas an ad that really stands outJoe DiPietro
Thursday, February 28, 201354DSkips, as classJoe Krozel
Wednesday, February 13, 200856A*Salon stylesElizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, February 25, 200753DBatters take themDavid J. Kahn
Friday, January 5, 200723ARecord collection?Paula Gamache
Tuesday, February 7, 200624AAbridgesElizabeth C. Gorski
Tuesday, March 8, 200553DRoster removalsDeb Amlen
Monday, February 14, 200524AMowsJanet R. Bender
Tuesday, September 11, 200144AFilm versionsJoan Yanofsky
Sunday, April 16, 200075ASome need stitchingElizabeth C. Gorski
Friday, August 27, 199959DSwordsmen's worriesJoe DiPietro
Saturday, February 20, 199931AShares (2)Rich Norris
Wednesday, November 4, 199841ASpoils shares?Rich Norris
Thursday, October 22, 199842AWhat Band-Aids aidChuck Deodene
Tuesday, March 10, 199841ASawsPatrick Jordan
Sunday, August 24, 1997104DBelt-tighteningMichael S. Maurer
Friday, September 6, 199623DShares (2)R. Norris

21 results for CUTS from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Friday, September 3, 199363ADeli's cold ___Eugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Friday, January 12, 199022ASeversErnst TheimerMaleska
Monday, December 15, 19862DSlicesSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Sunday, October 24, 198212DSnubs openlyFrances HansenMaleska
Wednesday, July 8, 198156AClass absencesEli WesoffMaleska
Sunday, June 11, 197857DReducesStanley GlassMaleska
Friday, February 6, 197622ACurtailsMaura B. JacobsonWeng
Sunday, February 24, 197487DSkips, as classesJohn WilligWeng
Friday, August 19, 196652ANotches.UnknownFarrar
Friday, March 19, 196515ACoat styles.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, January 5, 196556DEdits film.UnknownFarrar
Friday, November 13, 19641ACollegian's concern.UnknownFarrar
Friday, July 10, 196420DNicks.UnknownFarrar
Friday, April 3, 196451DCold ___.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 26, 1964100ACold ___.W. E. JonesFarrar
Wednesday, August 15, 19621DSnubs.UnknownFarrar
Friday, October 13, 19617DCold ___.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, August 13, 19611AEditorial matters.Mel TaubFarrar
Wednesday, January 25, 19618DPlates engraved for printing.UnknownFarrar
Monday, January 4, 196035ACold ___.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, January 22, 195928ACold ___.Thomas MeekinFarrar