Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

98 Results

23 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sunday, May 12, 201348DIntimate (3)David J. Kahn
Sunday, March 3, 2013102ALike some calls (3)Samuel A. Donaldson
Sunday, June 3, 201293DAbout to happenPatrick Berry
Thursday, January 5, 201223AEndingDan Schmiedeler
Saturday, December 12, 200946DWind upKaren M. Tracey
Thursday, January 10, 200813DLike some calls (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, September 11, 200549AWithin walking distancePatrick Berry
Sunday, August 8, 200484AAlmost touchingBill Zais
Thursday, November 7, 200216DIntimate (3)Patrick Merrell
Saturday, September 28, 200255DSeal the dealRaymond Hamel
Monday, August 12, 200249DTight-knitPeter Gordon
Sunday, March 31, 200282ALike best friendsLynn Lempel
Friday, December 28, 200129DBuddy-buddyManny Nosowsky
Sunday, April 15, 200154DAlmost equalRichard Silvestri
Wednesday, August 25, 19995ALike some calls (3)Richard Hughes
Wednesday, October 14, 199848DIntimate (3)Jay Sullivan
Sunday, September 27, 199870AStuffyRandolph Ross
Friday, July 31, 19988AStingyJohn Wolting
Thursday, March 19, 199835AKind of callManny Nosowsky
Sunday, June 15, 199793ALacking fresh airKaren Hodge
Monday, January 6, 199712DIn the ball parkS. L. Robbins
Thursday, November 14, 199615AJust offN. S. Ross
Friday, January 6, 199530A"Dangerous Liaisons" starFran & Lou Sabin

75 results for CLOSE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, October 31, 199357AAt handAlfio MicciTaub
Thursday, September 30, 19935DShe played Garp's motherManny NosowskyTaub
Thursday, August 13, 199216AIntimate actress?Walter CovellMaleska
Monday, July 20, 19925DNearBette Sue CohenMaleska
Saturday, June 20, 19926DTaciturnKevin BoyleMaleska
Wednesday, May 15, 19911ALike some shaves or callsPeter GordonMaleska
Thursday, January 25, 19905DBy a whiskerWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Wednesday, August 16, 198950DFinish a run on BroadwayLouis SabinMaleska
Monday, May 29, 198932AOscar nominee in "Fatal Attraction"Fred TooleMaleska
Thursday, March 30, 198931DNearbyMelvin KenworthyMaleska
Sunday, March 26, 198963A"Fatal Attraction" Oscar winnerLouis SabinMaleska
Monday, February 20, 198915DActress Glenn ___Norma SteinbergMaleska
Sunday, February 12, 198947A"Jagged Edge" actressJune A. BoggsMaleska
Friday, January 6, 198927DCompleteJean J. DavisonMaleska
Thursday, June 30, 198821DA "Fatal Attraction" starJudson G. TrentMaleska
Wednesday, June 8, 198828DAlmost but not quiteAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sunday, May 8, 198889AActress in "The Big Chill"Bette Sue CohenMaleska
Monday, April 25, 198831DNeck and neckElaine GeorgeMaleska
Sunday, November 29, 198712DStingyBert H. KruseMaleska
Monday, January 26, 198746DNearJoy L. WoukMaleska
Thursday, November 13, 198648DProximalIrene SmullyanMaleska
Sunday, March 30, 198690AShutErnst TheimerMaleska
Saturday, February 22, 198651DMake a contractKenneth WitteMaleska
Sunday, November 24, 198540DSecretiveCaroline G. FitzgeraldMaleska
Wednesday, May 8, 198553DAlmost thereA. J. SantoraMaleska
Saturday, March 23, 19859DActress Glenn ___Nancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Sunday, September 9, 198470AIntimateRichard SilvestriMaleska
Monday, October 24, 198335AShutJohnsonMaleska
Tuesday, February 22, 198330DShutJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Wednesday, September 8, 198253AKind of callJohn GreenmanMaleska
Wednesday, July 28, 198244DUnventilatedNancy McCarthyMaleska
Saturday, June 12, 198227DStuffyKay SullivanMaleska
Friday, October 23, 198115AFinaleRabinowitzMaleska
Monday, March 16, 198139AMiserlyEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Tuesday, February 24, 19814DNearbyJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Thursday, December 20, 197941AAlmost thereRaymond F. EisnerMaleska
Saturday, June 23, 197927A"___, but no cigar!"C. J. AngioMaleska
Sunday, February 11, 197997DCome togetherA. J. SantoraMaleska
Wednesday, December 27, 197829DCome to termsHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Monday, December 12, 197740DNeck and neckMarie WestMaleska
Sunday, October 30, 197779DStuffyA. J. SantoraMaleska
Thursday, December 16, 19764DHot and humidRemleyWeng
Sunday, September 19, 197635DNot rating a cigarEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Tuesday, June 22, 197622A"___ but no cigar"Harriet Gilson RosenbergWeng
Tuesday, November 25, 197522AKind of callSidney L. RobbinsWeng
Saturday, January 4, 197565ASultryEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Monday, December 16, 197461AConclusionMichael EisenbergWeng
Saturday, April 8, 197224AReticentUnknownWeng
Sunday, December 26, 197168DShutRobert Vaux RoopWeng
Tuesday, November 9, 197118DKind of sale, with "out"UnknownWeng
Thursday, September 4, 196942ABy a nose.UnknownWeng
Friday, January 31, 196953DTerminate.UnknownWeng
Monday, December 30, 196840AOppressive.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, December 8, 196867AConcludeWilliam LutwiniakFarrar
Wednesday, October 9, 196832AWord with up or down.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, October 5, 196818AFinish.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, March 18, 196764ATerminate.Manny MillerFarrar
Saturday, May 28, 196614AVery near.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, November 11, 196425AVery friendly.UnknownFarrar
Monday, April 6, 19646DIntimate.UnknownFarrar
Monday, February 17, 196430DEnd.S. A. KayFarrar
Wednesday, December 25, 196356AEnd.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, May 30, 196354DPart of a cathedral grounds.UnknownFarrar
Monday, April 29, 19637DFamiliar.UnknownFarrar
Monday, December 31, 196223ACathedral precinct.Helen FasuloFarrar
Saturday, November 24, 196244AEnd.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, March 11, 196218DUnite.Harry GluckFarrar
Friday, November 24, 196156DConclusion.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 31, 196150DSecretive.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 25, 196026DCompact.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, July 21, 196034DCome to an end.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, May 21, 196055AGrounds around a cathedral.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 17, 196038DOppressive.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, March 29, 196034DNearly equal.UnknownFarrar
Friday, May 22, 195943DOppressive.Helen FasuloFarrar