Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

23 Results

7 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Friday, October 10, 201430DRiver that flows past four universitiesDavid Steinberg
Sunday, February 27, 201142ARiver crossed by the Longfellow BridgePeter A. Collins
Wednesday, May 28, 200818DSon of Elizabeth IIC. W. Stewart
Saturday, November 6, 200437DRiver crossed by the North Beacon BridgeKyle Mahowald
Sunday, December 19, 199977DPrague's ___ UniversityFrances Hansen
Tuesday, August 8, 199549AActor GrodinGregory E. Paul
Thursday, December 1, 199438D"Georgia on My Mind" singerHarvey Estes

1 result for CHARLES from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
April 26, 2009acrosticERiver crossed by the Longfellow BridgeEmily Cox and Henry Rathvon

15 results for CHARLES from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Thursday, October 12, 198919AName of four Spanish kingsJoy L. WoukMaleska
Wednesday, May 10, 198948ABoston's riverWilliam CanineMaleska
Monday, July 2, 198436AFirst name of 37 AcrossIrene SmullyanMaleska
Sunday, August 30, 198150ADarwin, for oneDorothea E. ShippMaleska
Tuesday, February 26, 198021D___ VII of FranceCharles J. MatontiMaleska
Friday, January 26, 197949AModern princeC. J. AngioMaleska
Thursday, August 15, 19745AAdams, with 52 AcrossReginald L. JohnsonWeng
Tuesday, January 22, 19745DBritish princeMarie WestWeng
Saturday, July 15, 197234DElizabeth's sonUnknownWeng
Monday, October 19, 19641DPrince of Wales.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, October 8, 196164ACape at Chesapeake Bay.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Sunday, September 17, 1961108ABoston's river.W. E. JonesFarrar
Sunday, March 26, 196168ARiver of Harvard boat races.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, January 8, 196119DAndrew's brother.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Monday, October 24, 196035AContemporary prince.UnknownFarrar