Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

53 Results

15 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Friday, June 20, 201433AInexperiencedMartin Ashwood-Smith
Sunday, July 29, 20125DLike hamsKevin G. Der
Sunday, September 18, 201167ADo-it-yourselfer (3)Josh Knapp
Thursday, December 4, 200838DDabbler (2)Barry C. Silk
Thursday, April 24, 200846DHobbyist (2)Michael Langwald
Saturday, October 20, 200711DPan American Games participantPatrick Berry
Thursday, January 11, 200726ANot in it for the moneyLee Glickstein and Nancy Salomon
Monday, February 28, 200510DNot an expert (2)Marjorie Berg
Thursday, May 8, 200312DHobbyist (2)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Friday, October 25, 199656ADo-it-yourselfer (3)M. Nosowsky
Friday, May 12, 199524DBeginnerRich Norris
Saturday, March 18, 199538DDo-it-yourselfer (3)Manny Nosowsky
Thursday, February 16, 199538DCollege athleteChristopher Hurt
Tuesday, September 20, 199420ANot an expert (2)Christopher Page
Saturday, April 9, 19943DDabbler (2)Randolph Ross

1 result for AMATEUR from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
November 25, 2012cryptic19DA strangely mature beginner (7)Jeffrey Harris

37 results for AMATEUR from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Friday, October 4, 199151AA.A.U. memberJames E. Hinish, Jr.Maleska
Tuesday, January 22, 19915DDabblerArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Tuesday, May 8, 199051AUnpaid performerFred TooleMaleska
Tuesday, January 24, 198951ADilettanteWilliam E. HeinemannMaleska
Tuesday, March 8, 19881ATrue OlympianChristopher PageMaleska
Monday, March 2, 198756AOlympics athlete, e.g.Sidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Monday, October 6, 19868DPart of A.A.U.BurnsMaleska
Thursday, April 11, 198538DOlympics competitorBrian G. TylerMaleska
Friday, August 10, 198439DOlympics contestant, e.g.Eli WesoffMaleska
Sunday, August 21, 19839DDilettanteFrances HansenMaleska
Saturday, June 20, 198158AJacklegDorothea E. ShippMaleska
Wednesday, July 12, 19787DDabblerWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sunday, December 11, 197774ADilettanteOlga KowalsMaleska
Saturday, September 18, 197641AMajor Bowes's hourJim PageWeng
Sunday, December 8, 197419ADilettanteEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Sunday, June 16, 197411DBobby Jones, e.g.Raymond F. EisnerWeng
Saturday, October 20, 197355ACertain-golferUnknownWeng
Sunday, September 30, 197344DTalent on trialJack LuzzattoWeng
Monday, July 2, 197364AKind of standingUnknownWeng
Sunday, February 28, 197155DPart of A.A.U.Frances HansenWeng
Sunday, February 8, 19701DCertain sportsmanMarjorie K. CollinsWeng
Monday, July 21, 19694DDilettante.UnknownWeng
Tuesday, June 20, 19677DDilettante.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 31, 196630AType of athlete.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 8, 196645DSport "pour le sport."Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Friday, June 4, 196541DTV performer of a kind.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, April 20, 196552ADilettante.UnknownFarrar
Friday, March 12, 196537ADilettante.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, June 23, 196414AType of athlete.UnknownFarrar
Friday, March 1, 196360ASportsman of a sort.John ByrneFarrar
Tuesday, August 28, 196211DTyro.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 2, 196225DUnpaid devotee.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thursday, February 15, 19626DNeophyte.Louise EarnestFarrar
Saturday, May 27, 196115ANeophyte.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, January 31, 196140DOlympic athlete.UnknownFarrar
Friday, January 27, 196140ATyro.UnknownFarrar
Monday, June 13, 196041APart of A. A. U.UnknownFarrar