Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

175 Results for AHEAD

53 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

Sunday, July 12, 201527ALeading the packPatrick Berry
Tuesday, June 2, 201552DOn the horizon (3)Bruce Haight
Thursday, April 3, 201432DUp (6)David Benkof and Jeff Chen
Saturday, February 1, 201428AOn track to winWill Nediger
Wednesday, November 20, 20131ALeading (13)Peter A. Collins
Monday, July 9, 201250DLeading (13)C.W. Stewart
Thursday, March 1, 20126AForward (3)Steven E. Atwood
Sunday, August 14, 2011103DForward (3)Paula Gamache
Tuesday, November 24, 200932DLeading (13)Victor Fleming and Bonnie L. Gentry
Sunday, January 25, 200953ALeading (13)Michael Torch
Thursday, October 16, 200841AUp (6)Ian Tullis
Wednesday, March 19, 200848DOn the horizon (3)Gary Whitehead
Sunday, February 17, 200864DWinning (2)Henry Hook
Saturday, November 10, 200714AUp (6)Dana Motley
Tuesday, September 4, 200733DIn first placeManny Nosowsky
Monday, June 4, 200748DIn front (2)Steve Kahn
Thursday, November 16, 20068DUp (6)Kevin Donovan
Wednesday, November 23, 200552DOn top (2)Levi Denham
Thursday, October 27, 20056DEach (2)Bonnie L. Gentry
Thursday, October 20, 200516AEach (2)Manny Nosowsky
Sunday, September 19, 200464AUp (6)Kyle Mahowald
Monday, May 26, 200320AIn the offingLynn Lempel
Thursday, February 20, 200350DHaving the most pointsPeter Sarrett
Wednesday, October 9, 20029AGood place to be in a racePeter Gordon
Wednesday, July 24, 200249DLeading (13)Eric Berlin
Wednesday, June 12, 200222AOut in front (3)Nancy Salomon and Bill Zais
Monday, May 13, 200250DLeading (13)Patrick Merrell
Sunday, December 16, 200132DOn top (2)Fred Piscop
Sunday, January 28, 200164DUp (6)Jim Page
Saturday, December 2, 200044DUp, in a wayDavid J. Kahn
Thursday, February 24, 200037ALeading (13)Manny Nosowsky
Wednesday, October 20, 199911DComing upRichard Silvestri
Monday, September 20, 199934AOut in front (3)Gregory E. Paul
Monday, August 30, 19996DLeading (13)Margaret Watson
Sunday, July 25, 199990DLeading (13)Charles M. Deber
Tuesday, June 15, 199941AIn the lead (2)Stephanie Spadaccini
Wednesday, September 2, 19981A"You go ___"Randall J. Hartman
Tuesday, July 28, 199832DLeading (13)Robert Dillman
Sunday, March 8, 199838AOn the horizon (3)Richard Silvestri
Thursday, March 6, 199716AWinning (2)Shannon Burns
Thursday, December 19, 19961AForward (3)C. Millhauser
Monday, August 19, 199640AIn front (2)E.C. Gorski
Wednesday, August 14, 199645AOut in front (3)G. E. Sykes
Tuesday, June 18, 199655AIn the lead (2)E. C. Gorski
Tuesday, June 4, 19961AHaving more gains than lossesE. Early
Tuesday, March 5, 199627ALeading (13)G. E. Paul
Friday, March 1, 199631DOnwardCharles E. Gersch
Sunday, September 3, 199514DLeading (13)Ernie Furtado
Monday, August 21, 199559AIn front (of)Sidney L. Robbins
Tuesday, June 13, 199545AIn the futureTrip Payne
Thursday, July 21, 199421AFirstBetty Jorgensen
Friday, April 15, 199451ALeading (13)Cathy Millhauser
Thursday, November 25, 199340AOncomingJoy L. Wouk

1 result for AHEAD from Variety puzzles.

April 24, 2005cryptic6ALeading man in a commercial (5)Richard Silvestri

121 results for AHEAD from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

Monday, October 18, 199329ALeadingSidney L. RobbinsTaub
Sunday, July 18, 199332DWinning, for the momentMark DiehlMaleska
Thursday, May 20, 19939AIn the vanPatricia A. CevaalMaleska
Sunday, August 2, 199231DForwardJoy L. WoukMaleska
Friday, March 15, 199115ALeadingSam Bellotto, Jr.Maleska
Thursday, February 28, 199129DIn the leadEli WesoffMaleska
Monday, January 21, 199135AOut frontFred TooleMaleska
Wednesday, July 11, 19909ALeadingBetty JorgensenMaleska
Thursday, March 22, 199052DLeadingRobert H. WolfeMaleska
Tuesday, November 7, 198960AIn the leadJoy L. WoukMaleska
Monday, August 14, 198950DIn the leadPeter G. SnowMaleska
Sunday, July 23, 198936DOnwardNancy N. JolineMaleska
Monday, July 3, 198934AIn frontSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Wednesday, April 26, 198948DLeadingBetty JorgensenMaleska
Sunday, February 5, 1989105DWinningVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Wednesday, October 19, 19885AIn frontNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Wednesday, August 31, 19882DWinningLois SidwayMaleska
Thursday, February 25, 198854DIn the leadGloria EvansMaleska
Sunday, November 1, 198797DBeforeBrett A. BlaylockMaleska
Thursday, August 27, 198711DIn the vanJudith PerryMaleska
Saturday, April 25, 198713AOnwardJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sunday, September 21, 198672DOut in frontDale O. BurgenerMaleska
Friday, January 24, 198616AIn the vanKenneth WitteMaleska
Sunday, April 21, 198513ALeadingEdward MarcheseMaleska
Monday, February 25, 19858DIn the vanBarbara J. WeakleyMaleska
Thursday, February 14, 198541AForwardUnknownMaleska
Tuesday, November 27, 198450DIn the leadJohn DreyerMaleska
Saturday, November 10, 19845AOut frontRobert KatzMaleska
Thursday, September 13, 198444DIn the vanEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Monday, January 2, 198451DFarther alongShirley SolowayMaleska
Saturday, July 30, 198316DIn advanceJulian OchrymowychMaleska
Tuesday, April 12, 198345AIn the leadKathryn RighterMaleska
Tuesday, February 23, 198233AForwardWhittenMaleska
Wednesday, October 21, 198150DForward or onwardNikki TenfeldeMaleska
Sunday, July 19, 198134AWinningJim PageMaleska
Friday, June 13, 198053DIn the leadA. J. SantoraMaleska
Saturday, November 24, 197911DIn the leadMichael PriestleyMaleska
Sunday, August 19, 1979108DLeadingRonald FriedmanMaleska
Monday, May 8, 197851DIn the vanJean J. DavisonMaleska
Sunday, April 23, 1978143AIn the vanBert RosenfieldMaleska
Saturday, February 4, 197833DIn the leadMichael PriestleyMaleska
Monday, January 16, 197825DGet ___ (succeed)Herb L. RisteenMaleska
Saturday, November 19, 197727DWinningHenry HookMaleska
Wednesday, November 16, 197729DLeadingJack L. SteinhardtMaleska
Monday, August 1, 197743ALeading the packTerry HealyMaleska
Sunday, February 6, 197732DIn the vanEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Sunday, January 11, 19766DIn the leadA. J. SantoraWeng
Sunday, November 23, 197564DIn the foregroundTom SheehanWeng
Thursday, August 7, 197527DWinningBert BeamanWeng
Wednesday, July 9, 197526DGet ___ in the worldMarie WestWeng
Friday, June 27, 197555A"Full speed ___"Allan BlackmanWeng
Thursday, December 26, 197446DLeadingEvelyn BenshoofWeng
Monday, November 25, 197416AOut in frontChet CurrierWeng
Tuesday, April 30, 197453AShowing the wayS. A. KayWeng
Friday, February 1, 197449AOut frontJames A. BrusselWeng
Saturday, December 15, 197352AShowing the wayUnknownWeng
Saturday, January 13, 197349AShowing the wayUnknownWeng
Sunday, January 7, 197320AIn frontEdward J. O'BrienWeng
Saturday, August 5, 197250DGetting the jumpUnknownWeng
Sunday, April 2, 197219AIn frontBert KruseWeng
Tuesday, November 9, 197130D"Full speed ___!"UnknownWeng
Tuesday, August 3, 197126DLeadingUnknownWeng
Tuesday, January 12, 197130DOn topUnknownWeng
Saturday, December 19, 197045DIn advanceUnknownWeng
Sunday, November 8, 197052ALeadingEdward J. O'BrienWeng
Monday, October 26, 197021AIn frontUnknownWeng
Friday, June 12, 197057AOnwardUnknownWeng
Wednesday, May 27, 197024D___ of steamUnknownWeng
Sunday, February 8, 197093D___ of steamMarjorie K. CollinsWeng
Sunday, November 2, 196963ATo the goodWilliam A. Lewis Jr.Weng
Wednesday, May 28, 196950D___ of steam.UnknownWeng
Wednesday, May 21, 196924DLeading.UnknownWeng
Sunday, April 28, 196844AIn front.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Thursday, December 14, 196727DLeading.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Friday, July 7, 196722DIn advance.Louis SabinFarrar
Thursday, June 22, 196732DIn the van.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 11, 196764DIn advance.Paula BauersmithFarrar
Sunday, March 5, 1967119DLeading.George LaczkoFarrar
Monday, October 3, 196647AIn advance.Louise EarnestFarrar
Wednesday, June 1, 196650DLeading.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, May 5, 196636DIn the black.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, February 27, 196643DLeading.William LutwiniakFarrar
Wednesday, January 19, 196623DLeading.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, May 15, 196547DForward.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 3, 196526AIn advance.Sidney LambertFarrar
Saturday, June 6, 19645ARunning first.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, October 2, 196328DWinning.S. A. KayFarrar
Monday, August 19, 196332AIn the van.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 15, 19635ALeading.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, May 22, 196359AWinner's place.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, June 13, 196232DOnward.Madeline CorseFarrar
Thursday, May 31, 196210DIn first place.S. A. KayFarrar
Monday, March 19, 196225DIn the van.W. E. JonesFarrar
Monday, March 5, 19629AIn advance.Helen H. KamerlingFarrar
Friday, April 7, 196113DIn front.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, November 29, 196033AIn front.UnknownFarrar
Monday, August 22, 19605AGet ___ (succeed).UnknownFarrar
Friday, May 6, 19609AIn front.UnknownFarrar
Friday, October 23, 195944AIn advance.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, April 15, 195930DIn the future.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Tuesday, November 18, 195844AWinning.UnknownFarrar
Friday, October 17, 195832DIn advance.J. F. KellyFarrar
Saturday, May 3, 195827DIn advance.W. E. JonesFarrar
Saturday, April 19, 195844ALeading.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Saturday, March 15, 195812DIn the lead.Peter AllenFarrar
Wednesday, August 28, 195746DIn advance.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Saturday, January 5, 195725DWinning.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Saturday, January 14, 195640ALeading.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Saturday, June 25, 195558AForward.John M. HolmesFarrar
Sunday, May 9, 195476DIn advance.Sidney LambertFarrar
Wednesday, February 18, 19531DOut in front.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Tuesday, January 20, 195323DIn the lead.Harold T. BersFarrar
Friday, December 12, 195212DWinning.UnknownFarrar
Monday, November 24, 195216DLeading.UnknownFarrar
Friday, December 28, 195129DIn advance.UnknownFarrar
Monday, December 17, 195157DWinning in the game.UnknownFarrar
Friday, December 1, 195025DOut in front.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 24, 194676AAt an earlier time.P. J. LammanaFarrar
Sunday, October 27, 194643DIn the van.L. K. PetersFarrar
Sunday, October 28, 194533DIn front.L. K. PetersFarrar
Sunday, May 16, 194338DTo the fore.Charles ErlenkotterFarrar